KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

On Family and Friends……….

I don’t know where I would be or what I would do without the love and support of my family and friends.  The road of life is filled with detours, potholes and all kinds of twists and turns – if it wasn’t for my family and those very special friends I don’t think I would be sitting here right now writing this blog post.

We all need someone to lean on – to confide in and to help us navigate the various challenges and set-backs life throws at us.  It’s taken the untimely death of a former student (Ross Rogers) who was like a son to me,  to truly make me realize just how precious life is and how important family is. Sure, I paid lip service to this fact over the years, however this past week it’s hit home just how much we all rely on one another – especially within our close circle of friends and family.

My family is not even close to what you would call traditional. I have a step-son Cody who is not technically my step-son I suppose, but he is an important part of my family and he needed some help this past week. His mom (my x from 26 years ago) and I have been doing everything in our power to help him visit his brother Adam in El Salvador.  For some weird reason they would not let him enter the country when he arrived the other day because his passport was weathered and worn.  Our extended family have all come together via text, skype and e-mail to help him get a new passport and a flight back to El Salvador for the remainder of his Spring Break.

The point here is not really about Cody so much as its about getting beyond past differences and old emotional wounds  and realizing we all all in this thing called life together.

Divorce is a very painful and sad thing. I can attest to that! Luckily, in my case I have an amiable relationship with both my children’s Mom’s and their husbands. The passage of time does heal a lot of wounds and you wake up one day and realize just how short life is and we all need one another – especially those people who have walked part of  life’s journey with you.

Hopefully Cody will make it to El Salvador tomorrow and I pray all those people (family and friends) who were close to Ross will eventually get over his untimely death.  I have wonderful memories of Ross when he was my student and the times he stayed at my home and when we traveled through Ireland together last year.  All we have left are those memories to hold on to and cherish when someone passes. I’ve lost a lot of really good friends and family over the years and the older I get it seems the more people I lose. Its all part of the human condition I suppose.  Its painful and you never get used to it yet time marches on and their memory fades like the early morning fog.

Luckily it seems the bad times fade away and we remember only the good things about those people that have crossed out path somewhere along life’s journey.  So here’s to all those very special people (too many to count) who have helped me along the way both living and deceased.

2 comments on “On Family and Friends……….

  1. twoeightproductions
    March 25, 2012

    Reblogged this on Dangeross.

  2. Leah
    June 2, 2013

    Please contact me about Ross. Please.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 10, 2012 by in Keough Journal and tagged , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

