KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Say Goodbye to Adam

My son Adam has been staying with me since Christmas. I must admit it has been great having him with me while he’s been waiting to leave for his Foreign Exchange trip to Argentina. We had to jump through a great many hoops to make this trip happen, considering he was originally suppose to go to the University in Chile, but that fell through and we had to regroup and find him a comparable program in South America that would transfer credits to UNCW with the courses he needed for graduation. Needless to say, after lots of e-mails, phone calls, visits to UNCW foreigh exchange office and just downright bull dogging this thing we made it happen. I dropped him off in Wilmington at lunch today (see photo below). Had a great lunch with Cody, his Mom and his Uncle Greg. He will spend a few days with his Mom before flying out of Greensboro to Chile and then Argentina (Buenos Aires)
adamcouch071.jpg
We have been kidding each other about how we have had the opportunity to bond with one another – I love him to death, but the reality is we get on each other’s nerves and I say that in a loving way as his Dad. He did give me some cooking lessons and now I can actually make rice and beans and cook pork chops.

This will be a trip and experience of a lifetime for my son and I’m glad we were able to make it happen for him, even though there were times we just wanted to hang it up and just wait for next semester at UNCW.

While he was staying with me he got a job building boats and the upside of that besides giving him an opportunity to make some $$$ was the fact that he worked with a Mexican crew who spoke spanish and helped him with the language – he is going to need that while studying in Argentina.

adamcodyo71.jpgAdam and Cody at Front St. Brewery
I’m going to miss him a great deal, yet it was time to say goodbye and let him get on with his life and education.

I love both my kids a great deal – I can’t wait to go to Sicily in May to see Andei.
wilmgtngroup07.jpg
Good luck Adam!

2 comments on “Say Goodbye to Adam

  1. andei
    February 27, 2007

    awww. its like i wanna cry!
    lol
    i love you guys!

  2. Patrick Keough
    February 27, 2007

    We LOVE you too Andei and yes…it makes you get teary eyed:-)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2007 by in Keough Journal.
