KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

We be PoDcAstin!

It was great having the Blogmeister Joe Poletti and his team of highly motivated (enthusiastic) and extremely talented Carteret County School teachers visiting Carteret Community College today. I really enjoyed sharing what we are doing at CCC with technology as it relates to online learning.

ccwrkshp3.jpg

I truly believe we need to be working together more (CCC and CC Schools) than ever before. I am sure Joe has shared with you how we are living and teaching in a different world – a whole new learning environment and if we (as educators) don’t start getting innovative, creative and proactive in our approach to teaching, this new generation of millenium students are going (in my opinion) to look elsewhere for the information, knowledge and training they need to succeed in tis global economy.

ccschwrkshp2.jpg

We as educators have all these new powerful and sophisticated tools to communicate to our students via the web and in the traditional classroom environment. It is our job as educators to harness (and channel) this technology in order to guide our students (no matter what age group) to the resources they need to succeed in this ever changing world we live in. The Leave it to Beaver days are over (DARN) and as much as I hate so say good bye to those days I am absolutely jazzed about the potential for learning and teaching in the cyber frontier.

ccwrkshp8.jpg

So we learned a little bit about the WHY behind podcasting and the WHY behind incorporating a variety of rich media content into our classes.

One of the goals with podcasting and enhanced podcasting is to break down the barriers (walls) that seperate students from teachers in the online environment. When a student can not only read the instructors lectures and assignments, but also listen (and even watch) him or her explain, demonstrate and articulate exactly what is expected from the student for a particular assignment we as online teachers are tapping into more senses, connecting with more learning styles and adding a personal touch to the class.

ccschoolwrksho.jpg

As I mentioned in my presentation…most of our younger students are very comfortable (and proficient) working, learning and communicating in the online environment, and if we are going to keep them engaged and motivated in our classes we must do a better job harnessing and mastering these new instructional tools (podcasts, video, ITunes) and incorporating them into the fabric of our courses at all levels.

Here is the link for the CCC ITUnes U I promised you all – feel free to watch the podcasting training podcasts located under Distance Learning Icon. Remember you must have ITunes on your computer to view this site – you can download it for free at http://www.apple.com. Feel free to post questions and comments to this blog.

ITunes U – Click Here for Audio Lectures

cheers and keep on PodCasTin!

Patrick

5 comments on “We be PoDcAstin!

  1. jpoletti
    April 3, 2007

    Patrick,

    Thanks so much for giving of your time and talent. Our group is energized by your knowledge and energy. We certainly must continue.

    I’ve posted some thoughts of today on my blog as well.

    http://jpoletti.wordpress.com/

    Send me the iTunesU URL

    Joe

  2. keoughp
    April 4, 2007

    I was happy to share my passion for online education with your group Joe. We are all in this together and I feeel it is essential that we as educators all work together, sharing our ideas, knowledge and passion for teaching – that’s what it is really all about isn’t it? Doing a better more effective job teaching our students in all types of learning environments. I posted the link for CCC ITunes U at the bottom of my last blof entry and added to what I wrote last night before I ran out of steam.

  3. keoughp
    April 4, 2007

    I was happy to share my passion for online education with your group Joe. We are all in this together and I feel it is essential that we as educators all work together, sharing our ideas, knowledge and passion for teaching – that’s what it is really all about isn’t it? Doing a better more effective job teaching our students in all types of learning environments. I posted the link for CCC ITunes U at the bottom of my last blog entry and added to what I wrote last night before I ran out of steam.

  4. Pingback: Distance Learning Report 4/5/07 « Title III Grant

  5. andei
    June 6, 2008

    i looove the backyard painting
    ahh its sooo intense!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2007 by in Distance Learning.
