KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Paintin AgaiN!

I’m enjoying a little down time hear at Easter. School is out for a few days and I’m taking it easy…reading, working in the yard and getting back to my painting in preparation for my trip to Sicily to visit Andei and participate in an landscape painting workshop with an old artist friend Michael Untiedt who I met in Ireland a few years back.

Its taking me awhile to get back in the groove of mixing and applying paint. It has been almost a year since I took the painting class with Jason Smith. It is slowly coming back to me and at this point I’m just trying to tap into my expressive personal style and translate what I see onto the canvas.

I like to use the landscape (my backyard at the moment) as a point of departure for an impressionistic, slightly abstract composition. Check out my new catagory to the Blog – My ArT for some of the mixed media pieces I created in the past year.

mepainting2.jpg

The painting is very therapuetic for me – very much like working in the yard – I lose all sense of time when I paint – it literally takes me to a different place – very much like contemplative prayer.

Van Gogh, Giotto and Kandinski are a few of my very favorite artists. Van Gogh for his highly expressive and passionate approach to painting, Giotto for his naturalism and the great non-objective painter Kandinski for his intuitive sense of color, form and his highly conceptual works.

Van Gogh said, “I am still far from being what I want to be, but with God’s help I shall succeed.”
That sums up in one sentence where I am at this point in time.

ok…back to the painting.

2 comments on “Paintin AgaiN!

  1. Debbie Shepherd
    July 21, 2007

    I am very impressed with your painting of Atlantic Beach at Sunset. I agree with you that you need courage and also I think an open mind. Don’t you think you need to be open to try different techniques in order to improve? I like your work.

  2. mary faye
    December 7, 2007

    hey i too, love art..we took tara to the gugenheim in nyc.its much smaller than the met but has alot of new art,along with some of the great masters.
    i happen to love monet,(van gogh too) for his color..and of course,flowers being the center of his work..my girlfriend,who i told you i may have correspond with you,is taking art classes on her days of..shes good too!she paints people,well.you are right.it takes you to a different place..time doesnt exist there…thats why its FUN!!tara is really good..i will have to try and get her stuff on her my space to you..or have her do it.enjoy painting!love and peace,maryfaye

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2007 by in ArT.
