KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Teaching Art Appreciation in Afghanistan

I just started teaching another online Art Appreciation class for Wayne Community College. WCC is one of my favorite freelance teaching jobs. I was checking the new student introductions and noticed a post from a Broland Johnson. The thing that amazed me was the fact that he is taking my online class from the front lines of Afghanistan. The following is his initial introductory post to my course.

Hello everyone. I’m SrA (senior airman) Broland C.T. Johnson. I’m a 22 year old medical technician. I’m currently located at FOB (forward operating base) Clark in Khost, Afghanistan. Today is my second day reading the assignments. The 22nd was the day my book arrived. My login had gremlins, and through patients and some help in the states I gained access around 1a.m. on the 23rd. That didn’t last long. The computers go down for 24 hours when there are casualties. Today is my second day, and I enjoyed reading everything through a fire hose. “

That is one of the reasons I love to teach online. Just think about it? I live in Morehead City, North Carolina. I teach as an adjunct for Wayne Community College in Goldsboro, NC – 100 miles away, and I have a student on the front lines in Afghanistan – on the other side of the planet. Here are 2 photos he attached to his post.

reading.jpg

Broland reading his Art Appreciation Textbook out in the field in Afghanistan.

new2.jpg

All I can say is be safe and God speed Broland! The internet and the new and very powerful tools and applications in online course management systems like Blackboard enable me to share my knowledge and passion for art with students anywhere in the world. Distance is no longer a factor when it comes to teaching and learning. I feel empowered as an educator like never before. I can only imagine what the future holds for online teaching and technology in general in the coming years.

Now I better get back to my class.


Technorati Tags:


Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2007 by in Distance Learning.
