KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

My Book Project Continued…

mejournal92.jpg Journaling, Ocracoke 1992

I continue to plod methodically along on my book project. Just editing through and scanning my huge negative archive is a monumental task in itself. I woke up early and got caught up with all my online courses – hard to believe this semester is rapidly coming to an end. The next two weeks are going to be hectic to say the least with final exams, projects and averaging/posting grades for all my courses. I spent 2 hours scanning more negatives for the book today.

andeiadamfriend.jpg Amberlie, Adam and Friend, 1992

Its funny how the pictures don’t lie. The photographs I’ve taken over the past 30 years tell it all. They tell a story. These pictures of my family, friends and environments has given me deeper insight and clarity. The more I work on this project, the better I understand myself and the people that shared and impacted my life.

adamabeach93.jpg amberleiandei941.jpg

Adam at Atlantic Beach / Amberlei holding Andei 1992

Even though I’ve been divorced (more than once) many of my images show good, positive and loving relationships. Sure there were some tough, heartbreaking times, however, there was also a great deal of fun, love and joy and that’s what I want to remember and savor about the past.

stacandeimeshadow92.jpg

Shadow Portrait of Stacy, Andei and I, 1992

I hope to continue learning from the mistakes and difficult times of the past, but not dwell or let them eat away at me. It’s time to move on once and for all – enjoy the present moment, my children, extended family and wonderful friends. This book of photographs and journal entires is a cathartic journey and hopefully will communicate a story that readers can relate to and possibly learn from.

adamgun94.jpg

Adam and his B B Gun, 1994

andeifield95.jpg
Andei picking flowers, 1995

3 comments on “My Book Project Continued…

  1. Patricia
    December 8, 2007

    Patrick, the shadow portrait is so unique and the last one of Andei is so beautiful and refreshingly timeless.

  2. Shannon A.
    December 9, 2007

    Just wanted to say that this will be a great inspiration for many people when it is finished, (including myself). I might be able to learn something from it you never know. I think family and friends are the number one thing in a person’s life when times are hard. Without the friends that I have now I’m not sure where I would be. Your best friends are the ones who stand by you no matter what, so keep them close and well……..have fun 🙂

  3. keoughp
    December 9, 2007

    Thanks Shannon! It’s very easy to lose sight of the many positive and joyful things (experiences) during the difficult and stressful times of our lives. I think that’s what my book project is revealing to me. I would be lying if I said my personal journey was without emotional pain, heartache and some suffering. I brought much of it on myself because of some bad choices and decisions – however with that said…some of those unwise decisions also brought me some beautiful and special gifts. I feel very blessed to have two wonderful children and 2 very special step-kids. When we are in the middle of the difficult times it is hard to still be aware of the good that still surrounds us. Going through my vast archive of photographs and negatives has been an eye opening experience to me and has given me a glimpse into another reality that I somehow missed at the time I was making those photographs. Yes…it is very important to have good friends that you can count on and talk to. For example Cathy has always been there for me through the good times and the bad.

    All we can do is be honest with ourselves and in our photography, writing and/or any form of art that we chose to express ourselves through.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 8, 2007 by in Book Project.
