KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Back to Work!

mejump72.jpgChristmas vacation is over and its time to get my mind focused back on teaching both in the classroom and online in addition to my various distance learning initiatives at Carteret Community College. It was great seeing so many of my family and friends over the break but now its time to crank it back into high gear.

I have a lot on my plate for Spring 08. Two of our biggest projects is peer evaluating every online class offered at CCC in the next 12 months and setting up an online tutoring service for our students. Now that most of our faculty have been trained in online teaching methods it’s time to take a good hard look at the courses (technically and sound instructional design) they are teaching online.  I’m also teaching online for a variety of colleges across the state (not revealing how many) and am experimenting with some new communication tools such as using MS Instant Messenger for my online office hours and expanding on my use of audio and video.

Adam graduates UNCW this Spring with a dual major in Spanish and Political Science. Hard to believe that hurdle is almost over for us. He has really stepped up to the plate and has made me very proud. I don’t mind working extra to help him when I see him putting in so much effort into school.

mejournal07.jpgEven though I have a heavy load this semester I still plan to put time aside each week to work on my BOOK. There are 30 chapters and if i can layout one chapter every 2 weeks I’ll have the book done in one year. I plan on getting the first 2 chapters finished this weekend.

There is a lot going on in the political spectrum especially in the Presidential race. I used to be such a political junkie, but it just got me to stressed out. I’ve detached myself from politics in the media these days even though i still have strong political beliefs. I’ll save those for another Blog post.

andeieat.jpg Andei enjoying my roasted chicken dinner.

Lastly, I made a New Years resolution to learn how to cook better. I’ve never been very good in the kitchen and am sick of eating out and eating my various sandwich wraps and canned soups. I cooked pea soup with potato’s and sausage last night in my new crock pot. The entire house smelled like home cooking when I woke up this morning. I can’t wait to dig into it for lunch. I never realized how much fun cooking could be. I spent 30 minutes last night preparing it.

ok…I better get to the office.

3 comments on “Back to Work!

  1. Lindsay
    January 4, 2008

    Knowledge Online Services seems to be great. I haven’t seen anything like this in the entire America it would be difficult to do as the curriculum isn’t standardized in the same way. They have their own chat software to tutor…… Why dont you tie up with them for better improvement of your organisation

  2. mary
    January 4, 2008

    about cooking>>if you ever need some good recipes,i have a ton of them and easy ones,too!!have fun cooking..i enjoy it tara loves it..its a form of art so she absolutely loves it..i like baking better.

  3. Patrick Keough
    January 5, 2008

    Yes Mary…it is an art form. I just never took the time to explore cooking and I am just beginning to see how creative one can be in the kitchen + it is so much healthier and cost effective than eating out like I have done in the past. I have a long way to go but now that I have this great crock pot I am going to try and get better at it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2008 by in Keough Journal.
