KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

55 and counting…..

Woke up the the realization that I’m 55 today. I still feel very young at heart, but there is no getting around the fact that I’m beyond middle aged and that is a little scary to me. I blinked and 20 + years went by. Seems like the older we get the faster time goes by. I mean I’ve been working (teaching) at the same college for 21 years and living in the same town (Morehead City, NC) for longer than I lived in New York. Its a weird feeling. I’ve experienced some incredibly wonderful times over the years as well as some difficult and sometimes heart wrenching times. Just like most people in this life. I’m not complaining. Things could have turned out a lot worse for me. Sure, I have some regrets – who doesn’t? I would have made some VERY different choices (decisions) if I had it to do over again, BUT with that said…wisdom is wasted on older people. Life can be a dangerous and difficult journey and we don’t always know where it’s going to lead us. Once we get there I am learning that it is all about ATTITUDE. I can choose to accept my situation in life or choose not to. A positive and accepting attitude makes the sojourn a little easier in my opinion.

fourthgradebw72.jpg  I had a very vivid dream right before I woke up last night. I was with my childhood friends (in photo at left) Mike Smith and Kenny Hayes. It was so real and I reached out to them. Next thing I knew I was awake and they were gone. Mike died over 25 years ago. In fact…my 3 best friends growing up are dead (not Kenny though) and here I am at 55 still kicking, so I have a great deal to be thankful for. Even through there have been some bumps (big and small) along the way I’ve had (and still have) a good life, two great children, an challenging job that I love (for the most part) and supportive friends and family.

I don’t know if I have another 55 years ahead of me. Probably not. We’re not guaranteed anything in this life. I’m just extremely thankful for the blessings I have and look forward to the rest of the journey.

5 comments on “55 and counting…..

  1. maryann flanagan
    January 11, 2008

    Happy Birthday to you my dear brother.your right we must take each day,and live each day to the fullest, because we have no control of our destiny, we can be grateful for the good times, the memories, wonderful family,and good friends. The future is in GOD’S hands. Lets be happy today Patrick it’s YOUR day!!!!! ENJOY YOUR BIRTHDAY TO THE FULLEST!!
    love you always Maryann

  2. Shannon A.
    January 11, 2008

    Just want to say again, Happy Happy Birthday and I wish you the very best that life has to offer. Take Care………. 🙂

  3. Natalya
    January 11, 2008

    Happy Birthday, Patrick! Interesting, I was reading your blog about how you are feeling on your 55th birthday. I have to say, that no matter how old one is or what age one reaches, what important is what this one will leave behind. You ARE the meaning of “Creative”, you ARE the meaning of ” Artist”, so please, stay this way:))) Happy Birthday!!

  4. Patrick Keough
    January 11, 2008

    Thank you so much for your thoughts and wisdom Natalya. I really needed to hear the sincere words you posted to my blog. Sometimes when we (I) are so caught up in our jobs (especially teaching and administrating) we lose touch (sight) with the artist within and YOU reminded me of that. I so appreciate you bringing back to earth. Artists must stay connected to the creative “muse” within. Thanks! It has been a nice birthday. Patrick

  5. mary f.obrien
    February 21, 2008

    hey hope you had a great birthday.remember that “55” is ONLY a number….you can look at it all in a positive way,instead of being sad about “the number55”..you have had 55 full years of living,loving,learning,accomplishing…and 2 wonderful children…in that process..choose to be optomistic,and you may feel 25 again..i know, that i am “51” but my heart,says different..more like 25…and its from, the heart,that all good things come…so have a great year ..another great year.and remember how blessed you are,that you have had 55 yrs so far..there are some,who never make it that far!!!!heres to another ,lets say 40?smile,and be thankful for all of it..good,and bad….

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2008 by in Keough Journal.
