KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

The Human Element

I’ve written a lot about “teaching with technology” and harnessing the power of the internet / computing into education. Lately I have been thinking back to when we didn’t have the internet, e-mail, cell phones or computers.

digtlwrksh2.jpg We taught our students in classrooms “face to face” without anything more complicated than overhead projections and slides. There’s no doubt in my mind that we as college teachers in 2008 are working harder and longer trying to keep up with the various software, hardware and course management systems that constantly are getting upgraded with new and more sophisticated versions. Sure, I’m a strong proponent of distance learning and incorporating technology into my photography and art courses, however I think it’s important for educators to step back every once in awhile and remember that our primary focus should always be on teaching students.  We’re dealing with human beings and it’s very easy to lose sight of the human element when we are all caught up (and stressed out) by the various dynamics and challenges of incorporating technology into our teaching.

digitlwrkshp3.jpg I for one am a little nostalgic for the days when I spent hours in the darkroom and studio with my students – now I teach digital imaging, graphic design and commercial illustration (for the most part) via the internet and blackboard. So the questions is….HOW do we as instructors keep and nurture the HUMAN ELEMENT in our courses? That I believe is our challenge as we forge ahead in this new millennium.

One comment on “The Human Element

  1. Patricia
    February 9, 2008

    I am struggling with the same issues as a photographer. I REALLY miss the darkroom. I’ve been trying to figure out some way to get back to that but with children, space issues and finances I can’t seem to find any way around it. I also miss just being around other people, photographers in particular, but the same issues are restraining me. I try to look at the positive side of things and realize that in a few years I’ll be wishing the kids were little again and that they are only this age once.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 9, 2008 by in Keough Journal, Teaching with Technology.
