KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Front Page News!

When Sue, Laurie and I struggled up the Atlantic Beach bridge at around the 5 mile mark of the 1/2 marathon Saturday, we were slammed back by monsoon like winds and rain in addition to some hail. The weather was absolutely surreal to say the least. I reached out and grabbed the hands of my 2 very special running buddies as we fought our way to the top of the bridge. It seemed like we were not making any forward progress even though we were moving our legs. To top it off my IPod died from getting so wet and the great tunes I downloaded to keep my going STOPPED just before we made it to the top of the bridge. I was listening to the mad guitar riff from “Free Bird” when the music went silent and all I could here were the surreal sounds of wind, intense rain and a few cars driving by us. I looked up and there was the photographer Dylan Ray from the News-Times. He got down low and snapped off this shot which ended up on the front page of the Carteret News-Times. We all somehow knew that the photo he took would be published AND it was. I don’t know how we (I) finished the race considering the wretched conditions, but somehow we all made it to the finish line. It was God’s grace and sheer inner determination that got us all to the end of that race. We had to pull from WAY DOWN DEEP” to run 13+ miles in those conditions. Heck…I have never run over 8 miles in my life.

309-half-marathon.jpg

Front Page Carteret News-Times Sunday Edition

4 comments on “Front Page News!

  1. Gordo
    March 11, 2008

    Hey Pat – Who’s the old guy with the white mustache? Nice job. Keep on truckin!

  2. terry the k
    March 11, 2008

    the mustash has the power…great job my bro….your still my hero…

  3. Patrick Keough
    March 11, 2008

    thanks Gordo and Ter! I will keep truckin and yes…the stash has the power 🙂

  4. Karen M.
    March 11, 2008

    Yes, I think you guys are freakin’ nuts. I was working the weekend of the race and out in the wind and the rain, too. I got to see the runners as you came east down Arendell St. and I was traveling west in my truck. I just shook my head.
    Congratulations on completing the half-marathon. Next year will it be a full marathon? And shall I cut the picture out of the paper for you?
    Way to go, Patrick!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 10, 2008 by in Keough Journal.
