KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Just Rambling……..

journaling.jpg I just got back home from visiting my son and best buddy Adam in Wilmington, NC. Hard to believe he’s actually graduating UNCW next month. To say I am proud of him is an absolute understatement. I am going to be one proud Papa when I see him walk up and receive his diploma. His fluency in Spanish is going to be a great asset to him no matter what he pursues in life. I can see him teaching eventually, just like my Dad and I, but then again…who knows. He’ll find his calling eventually just like I did after a few years serving in the Army.

adam3.jpg We had a great time last night hitting a few of our favorite pubs before having dinner. I really like Wilmington and can see myself retiring there in the near future. There’s so much more to do than in this little coastal vacation town I live in. I especially enjoyed looking at the art at the Bottega Art and Wine gallery and drinking Hoppy Otter Pale Ale at Cape Fear Beer and Wine. They have an awesome selection of beers from around the world and a very cool ambiance. I’m sitting here drinking a pint of Brown Ale I brewed last month. It’s tasting really smooth after sitting in my beer room for over a month. So yes…I can see myself packing up and moving to Wilmington in the near future. I have lived in Morehead City NC for over 20 years and it is time for a change. I just have to put in a few more years at Carteret Community College and I’m outa here. I’m not really complaining, its just that this New Yorker is ready to get on with the next chapter of his life. I want to direct more of my energy into more creative endeavors like writing, photographing and painting instead of teaching and administering the Distance Learning program at my college. I can’t truly explore and investigate my creative sensibility when I’m teaching, freelancing and administering 60+ hours a week. Again…not whining here – I am lucky and blessed to have so many career options and opportunities its just that I am ready to move into another direction with my life.

meandei.jpg My daughter Andei is going to a language festival in Germany tomorrow. She apparently won an essay contest at her school to take this exciting trip. I miss her terribly, BUT I know she’s learning and growing so much going to school in Sicily and being exposed to so many wonderful cultural and creative opportunities. How many 15 year old girls American can say they speak fluent Italian and have had the travel experiences Andei has had. My week vacation is over and I have to gear up for work tomorrow. Two days of teaching and then I go to new Bern for the Distance Learning Alliance conference where I am presenting next Wednesday afternoon.

redemption.jpg  So anyway…I’m just rambling here – its my Blog so if I want to ramble I can. Seeing all the ArT in Wilmington has inspired me to carve out some time to do some more mixed media pieces. I have some ideas for more journal paintings – I just need to get the paint and easel out and get with it. So much art to make and so little time.

4 comments on “Just Rambling……..

  1. Shannon
    March 31, 2008

    Congrats to Adam, I bet he is as excited as you are to be graduating. Wilmington is a great place for a creative mind to unwind. I particularly like the boardwalk along the river at night, yet I haven’t been down there in a while. Also, the Azalea festival is coming up soon which is a fantastic fun filled weekend all in itself. Looking forward to some of your new and upcoming ArT work.. Smile, have fun, be happy, and take care… 🙂

  2. Your loving relative
    March 31, 2008

    I was looking at this today in school my friends love your moustache.
    IS THAT ART?

  3. Patrick Keough
    April 5, 2008

    I didn’t realize you ARE a film maker Virginia. I’m impressed. I have videos on Youtube as well. Look up mrkblogger. Love the Honey Nut Legos film. Today Youtube…tomorrow – Hollywood eh?

    Who LoVes Ya? Uncle Pat

  4. Tammy Guffie
    April 17, 2008

    Congragulations to your son. I am sure that you are very proud of him. It is a big accomplishment ti graduate and he deserves all the best in his encounters.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 30, 2008 by in Keough Journal.
