KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Down Time…

I had a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend with some friends who live outside of New Bern NC right on the Nuese River. I was ready for some down time after a busy week of working and teaching classes. I had an opportunity to actually drive a small motor boat – something that I must admit I have never done by myself before. We did some serious fishing for Puppy Drum Saturday afternoon (man it was hot!) and I actually caught a good sized fish – what a rush! Driving the boat down the river full throttle and then reeling in a relatively good sized fish was a serious adrenalin rush for this city boy. It was even more of a rush driving the boat back in the dark with nothing more than a flashlight to follow the boat ahead of me.

Even though I truly enjoyed the fishing, boating, swimming and YES…some very cold beers on Saturday, it was my lone sojourn the following morning in a Kayak that I savored even more. It was so quite and peaceful on Sunday morning as I meandered through the narrow channels of the Nuese river and then out into the sound. I had my camera with me and I just paddled lazily along the river stopping to compose potential subject matter for my photographs. I love photography and any opportunity to make some pictures rejuvenates my creative spirit. It’s good to rest our bodies and enjoy quality “fun” down time, however I get even more out of any opportunity to tap into that creative place inside and explore the artist within me – whether it be photographically or with my writing.

The following are a few photographs from the weekend. Enjoy!

Sunset on the River with Fishing Net

Meandering Through the Tree Lined Channel

Lilly Pads and Moss Covered Tree

Old Weathered Cedar Tree

Dead Trees

Hanging Moss

4 comments on “Down Time…

  1. Shannon
    June 11, 2008

    Looks like you had fun. I haven’t been fishing in a while, not used to fishing in this big ocean we have out here. I grew up fishing out of ponds, rivers and lakes any chance I got. A couple of years ago I had a chance to go sailing on the neuse and got some great shots of the Lily pads around the trees and some nice sunset pics on the water. It’s easy to see what you are passionate about through your pictures. Peace, tranquility, relaxation, and just the moment that makes everything fall into place. Again love the photos, especially the Hanging Moss. Take Care and Keep Smiling 🙂

  2. Dean
    June 14, 2008

    I need to talk to you about the symetrical thing you got working! If you need some help getting out of the rut let me know, I’m your man! Ha! Great shots, really… Dean

  3. Regina
    June 15, 2008

    Patrick,

    You really need to learn how to spell Neuse correctly. Nice pics, man

  4. Patrick Keough
    June 16, 2008

    busted! I will invest in a dictionary. 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2008 by in Keough Journal, Photography.
