KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Thoughts of Ireland

I’ve been thinking a lot about Ireland lately. Its been 2 years since my last visit and I must admit I miss the land of my ancestor’s and am going to have to start planning a sojourn back to the emerald island for Fall 08. There’s a writers workshop I would like to attend in Dingle and would love to travel up to Donegal one of the few cities I have not been to in Ireland. I know I’m very blessed to have such a good teaching job here on the coast of North Carolina however I feel as though it getting to be time for me to begin planning for the next chapter of my life. I have lived in Morehead City for 22 years and have worked as a teacher and administrator for the Community Colleges for over 25 years – since 1979.

Yes…I am so ready to do something else with my life. Thanks to the internet I can continue teaching online no matter where my travels take me so that’s not an issue – I just have to decide where i want to be in a year. I have thought about getting a loft in Wilmington NC and renting my house out in Morehead City – I have also considered leasing a house or country home somewhere in Southwestern Ireland and dive into my writing and photography – maybe even pick the painting again. Just like the Nike ad says…it’s just a matter of doing it. I know I can do anything I want if I just plan it out and put my mind into making it happen. There is no doubt that I have to leave this area in the next year or two. As beautiful as this areas is it’s sucking the life out of this city boy and I need to be in a new environment. There is something magical about Ireland.

Every time I go Ireland I feel as though I’ve arrived home. It’s almost as if I remember living there in another lifetime – its a feeling I don’t have about any other place and in fact, I feel more at home in Ireland than I do on Long Island  where I grew up. I must go back at least part of the time…its just a matter of figuring out how to make it happen.  If you can dream it you can do it!

Click Here for my Ireland Travel Journal 2002

7 comments on “Thoughts of Ireland

  1. Shannon
    June 29, 2008

    Looks like a great place to run to, so peaceful. I hope you find what you are looking for. Always remember to smile, sooner or later happiness will come when you least expect it.
    🙂

  2. Michalla
    July 5, 2008

    I have always enjoyed pictures of Ireland and found it to be a beautiful place. I hope you find what you are looking for. I grew up in a big city always feeling I was not were I was supposed to be and I moved to the country and felt so at peace, so I know what you are referring to. Go where you feel at home or you won’t ever be truely happy. Follow your heart, plan and it will happen. Best of luck and enjoy!

  3. Pingback: Changing MY Attutude « Keo BloG

  4. Lynda Duprey
    July 19, 2008

    Hi Mr. K,
    I just thought I would check out your blog before the last day of the summer semester. I loved your Ireland pictures. I have always wanted to go. My great grandfather came from Ireland, when my grandfather the baby of the family was 14, he left to go back. He was never head of again. I have always wondered what happen to him, and if I could dig up some geneology on him there. I am a closet writer, and so I can relate to being inspired by a different invironment. I did my best “closet” writing when I lived in a small New England town some years back. I hope one day before I’m too old and gray I can write again. Keep painting, even if you dont think its that good, it can be very fulfilling, I think you are a great photographer!!!! Good-luck-Lynda

  5. Morgan O
    July 19, 2008

    I have been cking out your website. It is funny how our travel paths crossed. (Of course, my paths are determined by my parents and where the deals are.) Looks like they will cross again. I am going to Ireland over Thanksgiving! My stepdad is into finding deals and found one to a place called Adare Manor for a week. It cost around 880pp for room, car, and villa. We are all pretty pumped because we have never been there. I am really enjoying your class. All of the utube videos are great. My mom, who is over online and Learn and Earn for my county, says she wished all online instructors would get with it like this art class. Like your site BTW.
    MKO

  6. keoughp
    July 20, 2008

    Thanks Lynda! Ireland is such an incredibly magic and special place. I feel more at home in southwestern Ireland than I do anywhere else. I long for the majestic landscapes, deep and endless shades of green and mystical misty mountains. If you want to write – it is very simple. Just WRITE! That’s it. We all have a story to tell. Read my latest post about the artist within us all. Good luck to you and its never to late to create and express yourself in some way.

  7. keoughp
    July 20, 2008

    I’m glad you have been enjoying my online art class Morgan. My goal is to replicate the classroom environment in the online environment and to do that we as educators must be innovative, proactive and creative. I hope to get to Ireland this fall as well. November is a great time to go because most of the tourists have gone. Thanks for the positive feedback and good luck to you in your travels and educational endeavors.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 29, 2008 by in Keough Journal and tagged .
