KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Technology Empowers IF You Know To Use It

I’ve been thinking lately just how much technology – especially digital communications technology has changed every aspect of our lives. I mean in less than twenty years digital technologies have completely changed (and dramatically impacted) how we live our lives, how we conduct our business, how we teach our students, how we learn, how we communicate to our friends, family, employers, employees, loved ones and the world in general.

andeiscreen1The internet and “open source” programs like Skype, DIM DIM and even IM have enabled me to nurture my relationship with my daughter Andei even though she lived in Sicily for almost 2 years and now is sailing around the Bahamas with her Mom and Step-Dad.

We talk via Skype almost every day and share photos, plans and our daily lives with one another even though she’s hundreds of miles away. Digital technology has enabled me stay connected to my daughter Andei  and many other friends and family even though they live in other states and even foreign countries.

Another thing that continues to amaze me is how I can teach just about any subject online.  Think about it…ten – twenty years ago it would have been unheard of to teach photography, art, and a variety of other subjects outside the traditional classroom environment.  Now with course management systems like Blackboard and Moodle just about anything can be taught online effectively.  I’ve been teaching online for over ten years and this past semester I took a risk  (accepted a challenge) to teach Computer Art totally online.

At first I was a little apprehensive, but now four weeks into the class it’s going great and the students are creating some absolutely AMAZING digital art (see below) by following my posted lectures, video tutorials, screen casts and screen shots sequences on how to use Photoshop and digital image manipulation programs.

composite1

Digital Composite by Anna McDonald – Computer Art I

bigfight

Digital Composite by Joshua Hilbish

whitetigers1

White Tigers and Owl with Girl by LaToya Hendley

bboy-bro

Digital Composite by Cindy Sigmon

predators

Predators by Bryson Scott

Technology is changing so rapidly and I admit it takes time and effort to stay abreast of all the changes  – in fact…no one can keep abreast of this technological roller coaster. With that said…I appreciate what it’s done for me in my life – it’s empowered me in my teaching career and has enabled me to stay close to my children, friends and family, where as 20 or 30 years ago we may have just drifted apart due to the distance between us. There really is no distance anymore – we are as connected as we want to be.

You just can’t be afraid or intimidated by it all – hey…I’m an art guy with absolutely no formal computer training and somehow I figured it out enough to make it work for me.

Gotta Go! Andei is Skyping me. Cheers!

2 comments on “Technology Empowers IF You Know To Use It

  1. Phil Bisesi
    February 11, 2009

    Pat: How the hell are you?! I thought of you when my son posted a picture of me on Facebook that you took umpteen years ago at a racquetball tournament in Greenville. Here’s the link:
    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1106373282&ref=name

    I have enjoyed reading your blog and looking at your pictures, you were the best and have stayed the best…Drop me a note at my email and maybe we can get together sometime.

    Phil

  2. Pingback: KeO BLoG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2009 by in Keough Journal, Teaching with Technology and tagged , .
