KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Letter From Adam in El Salvador

adamelsalvador1The following is a letter with a couple of photos I just received from my son Adam who is serving in the Peace Corp in El Salvador.  Sounds like he is experiencing a very different life and culture than here in the states. What a fantastic opportunity for a young person – to be able to live, work and make a difference helping others in another part of the world.

“Things have been going good here, the other day I climbed a volcano ( 6500 ft of goat trails, kicked my ass), and today I finally got back at the rooster for constantly waking my up by killing his girlfriend and making soup out of her. This is what the Peace Corps is all about.No just kidding. I’ve also done some teaching at one of the local schools (taught English, and the kids thought it was pretty funny when I didn’t know what a preposition was). I’ve also been working with the local health promoter to get infants in the outside villages vaccinated against common illnesses, and doing talks with pregnant women to make sure they are aware of their dietary needs during pregnancy ( I saw a pregnant women walk up a goat trail from the river, that made me sweat,  with a tub full of dishes and and laundry on her head. pretty impressive to say the least). I’m really excited to finish up training and get out to my site and start working on my own projects. I’ve got a free weekend coming up and I’m headed to the beach to try to get some right point breaks. I’ll send some pics of that later, but for now enjoy these pics of a dead bird (if u zoom in on the bird hanging by its feet u can see blood dripping from were I slit its neck, pretty nar).

Adam

The poor chicken chicken

3 comments on “Letter From Adam in El Salvador

  1. Shannon
    March 14, 2009

    Wow, what an experience, looks like he is loosing some weight. It’s good to know he is doing ok. Weather looks great, can’t wait to get out and do some hiking and camping here. Tell him good luck with the chickens…. 🙂
    Shannon

  2. Pingback: Topics about Peace » Archive » Letter From Adam in El Salvador

  3. MA
    March 24, 2009

    HI ADAM, ENJOYED READING YOUR LETTER. WHAT A FABULOUS OPPORTUNITY TO SEE THE WORLD IN ALL IT’S GLORY, AS A WORKER RATHER THAN A TOURIST. I’M VERY PROUD OF YOU AND ALL THE ACCOMPLISHMENTS THAT YOU HAVE HONESTLY EARNED.
    HAVE A MENTIONED THAT YOU ARE TRUELY A REMARKABLE GUY!!!!!!
    KEEP SAFE IN ALL THAT YOU DO, MY PRAYER’S WILL BE WITH YOU FOR
    THIS JOURNEY AND YOUR SAFE RETURN TO THE STATES!!!!!
    LOVE
    AUNT MARY & UNCLE KENNY & COUSINS

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2009 by in Keough Journal.
