KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Latest Photographs and some Random Thoughts…

I’ve really enjoyed having a few days off from the college.  I still got some work done on my courses these past few days, but on  my time and I didn’t have to go up to the school.  I must admit I could retire tomorrow if I could and just pursue my creative endeavors like writing, painting, traveling and of course my photography.

In-between working on various projects I got out with the “Diana Camera” and shot another roll around the neighborhood.  diana-camera-1There is no doubt film cameras (especially Holgas and Diana’s) force you to slow down when you are making pictures and that is what I like about them.  With digital photography I can blast through 80 exposures in a matter of 5 minutes and constantly be looking at the back of the camera to see if I like them or not – if not…I just click delete and go on to the next shot.  Film photography definitely has a more deliberate and thoughtful approach to it if you want to get decent photographs. Here are a few black & white photographs I scanned from the last roll I shot Sunday afternoon.  Shooting with these very basic “plastic” medium format cameras forces me to relinquish control of what I conceptualize the image to be in my minds eye.  Most of the time the camera translates your subject very differently than what you you would imagine.  I kind of like the suprises I get when I develop and evaluate the film.  There is a bit of a mystery to the entire process and it forces me to think more about the WHY behind the subject matter I choose to point the camera at. Click on the thumbnails to view the larger image.

palmleaves72 trailer72waterview1 3selfdiana721

yardbarnshadows1 ropetrailer72

One comment on “Latest Photographs and some Random Thoughts…

  1. Patricia
    April 13, 2009

    You should try TTV. Do a search on flickr and grab a pringles can. 😀

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2009 by in Keough Journal, Photography and tagged .
