KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Ireland Through Lens of Diana “Plastic” Camera

selfportraitI’ve been editing the thousands of images Andei and I shot during our trip through Ireland.  We had a very special trip – one, I’m sure neither of us will ever forget. I’m writing a travel article for the local paper and putting a Blurb Book together as well. Just looking at the photos makes me long to go back to the home of my ancestors.  I could easily see myself living in Dublin, Galway or even Cork after I retire.

I also developed 2 rolls of 2 1/4 Delta 100 B&W film taken with my Diana camera during my travels and was pleasantly surprised with the results.  The fun thing about shooting plastic cameras like Holga’s and Diana is no matter how careful and deliberate you are when taking pictures with them – you never know exactly what you’re going to get in the final image.  The plastic lens translates subject matter in a soft, dreamy almost ethereal way.  Sometimes they are properly exposed and sharp and other times the images are either over exposed or under and have a very soft painterly quality to the prints.  Here are some of my favorites from our trip.  I’m posting more under the plastic camera page of the blog. Enjoy!

Celtic Cross, Dublin

Celtic Cross, Dublin

Waterfall Behind Anam Cara Artists Retreat, Beara

Waterfall Behind Anam Cara Artists Retreat, Beara

Grafton Street, Dublin

Grafton Street, Dublin

Rock of Cashel

Rock of Cashel

St. Steven's Green, Dublin

St. Steven's Green, Dublin

O'Connell Street, Dublin

O'Connell Street, Dublin

6 comments on “Ireland Through Lens of Diana “Plastic” Camera

  1. Doris
    May 23, 2009

    I was googling my fraternal grandmother’s maiden name, Keough, and came upon your lovely tour. Thanks for sharing and did you locate where in Ireland your Keough relatives came from?
    Doris Buff Cote’

  2. Pingback: Ireland Through Lens of Diana “Plastic” Camera « KeO BloG

  3. keoughp
    May 24, 2009

    Doris, From the research my family has done the (“Keogh’s) were from the County Cork area and Miles Keough – General Custer’s Scout was our distant relative. Glad you enjoyed the photos from Ireland. cheers! Patrick

  4. rui filipe
    July 16, 2009

    hello! I’m Rui from Portugal.
    I just got a DianaF+ camera … and I’m trying to get used to this lomographic world … just taking the first steps into this “intuitive” and amazing world!

    I’m looking for some examples and references so i can get a “better picture” of what can be done with this “toy cameras” … so if you don’t mind i would like to ask you…

    inthe grafton street photo what kind of settings you had in your Diana to get that kind of effect?
    Pinhole ? or “B” shutter ?…

    and since I’m leaving Lisbon to Dublin next week can you tell me if exists a place in Dublin where i can get Diana’s accessories ? I was planning to buy a fish eye lens here in Lisbon, but they were sold out … I was planning to use it in the Moydrun Castle (the unforgettable fire cover castle) … I’ll be in Dublinalmost a week .. 2 of those days to see U2 shows …

    Thanks for your time
    Peace
    Rui from Lisbon, Portugal

  5. Patrick Keough
    July 17, 2009

    Hello Rui! Thanks for checking out my blog. To answer your question about the Grafton St. image I put the Diana on pinhole setting and ressted the camera on a trash receptacle for support – I was using 100 speed Arista film and I shot it at about 5 second exposure which created the illusion of motion in the people. I love shooting the Diana and Holga while traveling – it is much more of a creative challenge than shooting straight digital photography. I didn’t see any camera stores in Dublin – I get my plastic camera supplies from Freestyle Camera. Good luck on your trip to Ireland! It is a wonderful country to shoot. I want to get to Portugal some day. Here is the web site for Freestyle. Cheers!

    http://www.freestylephoto.biz/index.php

  6. Kelli Garner
    September 25, 2009

    Thats very good to know… thanks

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2009 by in Keough Journal, Photography and tagged , , .
