KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Andei Flying in from Rome

It feels longer than a week since I said goodbye to Andei at the Dublin Airport. She flew to Rome to spend a week with her friends from  Sicily and I heading back home to the states. I just woke up and checked e-mail to find a short message from her. She made it back to Dublin airport  (wheew!) and is now on plane to Newark and then on to Raleigh where I will pick her up tonight.

I’m really enjoying this summer semester. I’m focusing more on my photography and writing because I have a light teaching load for once in a very long time. The past few days I found time to write a travel article about Andei and my photographic adventures through Ireland. It’s being published in the local paper (feature section) this Sunday. I’m using that 1500 word article and my travel journals as the foundation for a Blurb Book I’m starting today. Next week I am having shoulder surgery so I am trying to get as much writing done as I can. Doctor says I won’t be able to move my right arm much for a few weeks after the surgery. Thirty years of intense racquetball just wore out my shoulder. Here are a few photos Andei sent me from Rome. She has come a long way as a photographer in a short amount of time. I see a little of Cartier Bresson in her work. She’s getting better at capturing (and framing) those unique decisive moments when a situation no matter how seemingly insignificant or commonplace comes together for a split second – like in  the 3 Nuns photo and the Woman at outdoor cafe.

Park Bench in Rome by Andei Keough

Park Bench in Rome by Andei Keough

Woman at Outdoor Cafe by Andei Keough

Woman at Outdoor Cafe by Andei Keough

Three Nuns Walking by Andei Keough

Three Nuns Walking by Andei Keough

Violen against Wall by Andei Keough

Violen against Wall by Andei Keough

Friends by Andei Keough

Friends by Andei Keough

3 comments on “Andei Flying in from Rome

  1. Shannon
    May 27, 2009

    She has some pretty awesome shots here. Glad she is safe and on her way home. Headed to Church this morning, I will say a prayer for her. Take care.

  2. Cathy Crowell
    May 27, 2009

    These also remind me of some of your images and Stacy’s from that first trip we all made to Rome many years ago. Remember seeing the Pope.

  3. Patrick Keough
    May 28, 2009

    I’ll never forget getting to see the Pope back in 1995 Cathy. It was a special moment in my life. Andei told me all about Rome last night on the drive home from Raleigh airport – now I want to get back to Italy for another visit. So many trips to take – so little time.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2009 by in Keough Journal, Photography and tagged .
