KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Settling into Summer…

mediana1I’ve been back from Ireland a week now and have been enjoying my “light” teaching load this semester. I’ve been able to get some writing done and in fact the local paper (Carteret News-Times) published my article with photos about our recent Ireland adventures yesterday.  James Minor did a great job picking the photos that best went with my article and journals, in addition to a super layout job.  Check out this past Sunday’s paper – feature section to see it.

I got a lot done on my Ireland Photo Book this weekend as well.  Just about got half (100+) of the photos sized and laid out using a variety of creative templates the “Blurb” online publishing company provides.  Blurb is an excellent and cost effective way to publish your own book.  Once I get the Ireland trip with Andei done I plan on doing another one of just all my travel images over the past 10 years.  It’s a great way to put a very professional body of work together and even make it available for sale on the Blurb web site.

I go in for out patient shoulder surgery tomorrow morning.  I am not looking forward to it, but can’t put it off any longer.  Its just going to continue to get worse if I don’t get the tear in my shoulder and bone spurs repaired.  Hopefully I’ll be playing golf again in 4 months or so.  At least that is what the doctor said if I am diligent with my physical therapy.  May not be able to keep the blog up for a week or so – all depends on how much use I will have in my right arm and hand.

I developed my last roll of Diana camera film the other day.  Here are a couple more B&W images I liked from that last roll.  You never know what to expect when shooting and printing plastic camera images.  These were some pleasant surprises.  Two were taken in my front yard and the other 2 in Kildare, Ireland and the Japanese Gardens.  I need to pour myself another cup of coffee and start getting ready for work.  I have a lecture this afternoon on video editing and have lots to do to prepare for this surgery.  Uhhg!

Andei Standing on Bridge at Japanese Gardens, Ireland - Love the Light on Her

Andei Standing on Bridge at Japanese Gardens, Ireland - Love the Light on Her

Pin Hole Photograph of Small Waterfall at Japanese Gardens, Ireland

Pin Hole Photograph of Small Waterfall at Japanese Gardens, Ireland

My Front Yard Late Afternoon - It was the Dappled Light that Caught my Eye on this Shot

My Front Yard Late Afternoon - It was the Dappled Light that Caught my Eye on this Shot

The Image has a Weird - Ethereal quality to It

The Image has a Weird - Ethereal quality to It

2 comments on “Settling into Summer…

  1. Susan
    June 3, 2009

    Hey Patrick! I am just catching up on your blog after not having read it in months! You have such an exciting life, with all the traveling and fun with Andei! I hope your shoulder surgery went well and that you will be back doing all the fun things you enjoy soon!

    Blessings,

    Susan

  2. Susan
    June 3, 2009

    Oh, and GREAT photos, of course! 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 1, 2009 by in Keough Journal, Photography and tagged , .
