KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Recuperating

surgeryI’ve been recuperating since Tuesday from rotator cuff surgery.  30+ years of intense competitive racquetball basically wore out my shoulder – it didn’t help things when I kept playing after I tore it.  I go in for my follow up appointment this morning and soon I’ll begin physical therapy. My goal is to be playing some golf in about 4 months. I will most likely quit racquetball for good, although I’ve learned never say never.  Keeping this post short.  Difficult to type with my left hand only.

I’m enjoying Andei being here with me this summer. She started a job as hostess at a local restaurant “Ruddy Ducks” this week and seems to really like it.  Its great having a light teaching and work load this summer. I want to get back to my book projects as soon as I get out of this sling.  There are also a lot of issues on the political front that trouble me and I’d like to address, however for now I am leaving politics alone – my blood pressure has been high and that is one way for it to spike through the roof.  This summer is for healing, working on some personal photography and book projects and basically rejuvenate  my creative spirit.  When things get weird and scary always remember…God is in Control. Oh…I know – it isn’t politically correct to say that these days.

cheers!

5 comments on “Recuperating

  1. Shannon
    June 5, 2009

    Just got back from church. Talked about paths and just letting God choose. It was a good one. You are right God is in control. I said a prayer for ya and I hope you get better soon. Remember to breathe and always smile.
    God Bless and Be Happy! 🙂

  2. Gerry Hoyum
    June 5, 2009

    Boozhoo Red Dog, I hope you do follow the path of healing and we do know God is in our lives as we look around each day at the wonders of nature. I will put some asema (tobacco) out for you in my morning prayers. We will see you some day so keep in touch. Your old army friend. Ozaawaakook

  3. Patrick Keough
    June 5, 2009

    thanks Gerry! I promise I will get to the north country in the near future. We must drink some beers together and tell army stories.

  4. Shelli
    June 18, 2009

    I am having my rotator cuff repaired July 8th. I have been in horrible pain and just can not think of waiting another 3 weeks. It has been 6 months since my injury, but my MD did not really think it was serious. I have been going to physical therapy and have just been miserable. I feel like I am losing my grip due to the pain. I am still working and trying to cope. I am just wondering how much pain you where in post-op. I am hoping to return to work in 7 days, my doctor said I could try but it might be difficult. I am a single mom and have no way of getting by without getting back to work. My doctor said my rotator cuff is basically obliterated and will require several anchors drilled into the bone to reattach the tendons. Do you have any advise for me? Do you think it is realistic to get back to work that quickly (without pain meds). I would love to hear your input. Thanks.

  5. keoughp
    June 20, 2009

    Yes Shelli…this is a painful procedure and painful condition. I procrastinated getting the surgery for 8 months until I couldn’t raise my arm above my chest. Sounds like your condition is much worse than mine. I am 2 1/2 weeks out from surgery and I have no pain…just some discomfort while sleeping. I was back to work in one week wearing an arm sling. You will definitely need the pain meds first few days after surgery and then I suggest getting Motrin – you can’t work on the pain pills they give you – they really knock you out. Good luck to you and I hope you have a speedy recovery.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2009 by in Keough Journal.
