KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Sojourn to El Salvador

So far my sojourn in El Salvador has been a truly amazing and an eye opening experience for me.  This is my first time visiting Central America and my son Adam who is working as a Peace Corp Volunteer here since last February.

beachcanopyblg

I can’t get over how much I’ve seen and experienced in the past 5 days.  The people are absolutely beautiful, friendly and incredibly hospitable.  We rented a car and spent my first day in El Salvador at the beach.  The waves (HUGE) are like nothing I have ever seen.  We just relaxed at a very rustic beach hacienda and I watched Adam surf and took it easy before driving into the interior of the country.

adamwalkingI’ve had an opportunity to stay in Adam’s humble home located off a 12 mile long dirt road, visit with Adam’s neighbors in his village, eat the local food, attend the festival of corn “maize” and be recognized and honored in front of 1000+ people during the opening ceremony for that harvest festival.

We visited the local school Adam teaches in, had photographs taken with the teachers and children, learned about the needs of the community and school, his teaching and peace corp projects and am getting a real feel for what it would be like to be a Peace Corp volunteer. I must say this type of volunteer work is not for the faint of heart and is a real culture shock from all the creature comforts in the states.

Woman in the outer villages (where Adam is stationed) still wash clothes in the river.  Most homes don’t have plumbing and many don’t have any electricity.

adamsurfblg

Yes…this is a very different world from the one I live in and must admit that I would have difficulty acclimating myself to this rustic and simple (hard) live.  Just doing the basics like getting your clothes washed, food cooked, and yourself clean is a chore and takes considerable time and effort.  I will let the pictures tell the rest of the story of my El Salvador travel experience for now.

meadamelsalbg

When I return I’ll post  more comprehensive observations and photographs from my visit here to spend some time with my son who is doing an amazing job as a Peace Corp Volunteer.  His Spanish skills are fluent and he knows everyone in the community he lives in and seems very well liked.  What can I say? I’m a proud Dad!

CLICK THE THUMBNAIL IMAGES BELOW TO MAKE LARGER

adamkidsblg adamlunchblg boyatbeachblg headcarryblg

3girlsblg littlegirlblg cocoanutsblg oldmanchild

mekidsblg sunwaterblg bigwaveblg boysblg

19 comments on “Sojourn to El Salvador

  1. Robin
    October 27, 2009

    This is amazing. I am so glad you are able to share this with us. Adam looks great and I am so glad that you are seeing first hand where he is working and meeting the people in his village. Hope you continue to have a wonderful visit and I look forward to more stories and pictures. Still can’t really get over Adam with a mustache. It almost looks like a disguise. Have fun and give him a big hug for me. I miss him so very much but am also very proud of him. Love
    Robin (mom)

    • stacy
      October 28, 2009

      Robin, I agree–the mustashe looks like a disguise! Are we sure it’s really Adam??!

  2. Mary Flanagan
    October 27, 2009

    WOW, what beautiful photo’s!!!!!!! An amazing opportunity for Adam and of course an extremely humbling experience. I too am so very proud to see my nephew working so hard to improve the many lives of so many unfortunate people. He has grown up to be the essence of goodness and kindness, please tell Adam that we will continue to pray for him and will continue to write to him as well. Patrick, glad you had this time with Adam, the bond you share must be unbelievable. God Bless you both.
    Love Mary & Kenny

  3. larolyn
    October 27, 2009

    The pictures are GREAT (of course) and Adam looks happy (and different with the mustache)! Wonder where he got that idea?? I know you are a proud papa and it’s great that you have this time together. Tell Adam hello from me and that I’m proud of his service and sacrifice to others! Hope you have a wonderful time for the rest of the trip! Be safe and drink LOTS of wine!!
    L.

  4. don staub
    October 27, 2009

    Cool stuff Patrick. Thanks for sharing. And ditto Mary (above)…a very noble effort by Adam. It sounds like you’re having a great time, and I, for one, am jealous. Soak it all in.

  5. henry
    October 27, 2009

    Wonderful! Now you know why I always return to Central America.
    Give my best to Adam. And let’s hook up when you get back.

  6. Gene
    October 28, 2009

    I’m so glad Adam is doing well and is safe. The pictures are wonderful and I think Adam mustache look good.

    We think of him often and are proud of the direction he has chosen in his life.

    ah? did he know about the surf before he joined the PC?

    Stay safe we love you. Uncle Gene

  7. Thomasina
    October 28, 2009

    These images are wonderful. The El Salvadorians are a beautiful people. You must feel priviledged to capture them in their natural setting. I thank you for sharing such breath taking pieces with us. Have a safe trip back… best wishes to your son and his family.

  8. Christine Williams
    October 28, 2009

    Its seems like an amazing learning experience

  9. keoughp
    October 28, 2009

    Thanks for the good wishes and nice comments from all who have posted to my El Salvadorian journey blog. There is no doubt this is a life changing experience for Adam, and I must say it has helped put things into a little different perspective for me as far as realizing just how blessed I am. We are heading back to Adam’s community after a visit to the mountains. As I mentioned in my post – the scenery is awesome and the people are so genuine, outgoing and loving. I am already planning my next trip here for the Spring to assist Adam with a project at his school. Thanks for the support, prayers and good wishes!

  10. Lisa Maloney
    October 28, 2009

    The pictures are amazing. The landscape looks so lush and beautiful. I am sure you had an awsome visit.

  11. twoeightproductions
    October 29, 2009

    man, Adam with that mustache really looks like some of the photos of you when you were young. if he had long hair it would be a spitting image.hope your having a blast. tell Adam i said hey. and that big nate is moving into his old room.- ross

  12. missopinion
    November 30, 2009

    Thanks again for the great post! I am anxious to get back to El Salvador myself, particularly to assist in the recent hurricane disaster.

  13. Pingback: Adam Keough’s Peace Corp Project – Please Support! « KeO BLoG

  14. Pingback: Adam Keough’s Peace Corp Project – Please Support! | MadisonvilleArts

  15. Pingback: Summer Endeavors – Work and Play « KeO BLoG

  16. Pingback: Heading to El Salvadoria « KeO BLoG

  17. Pingback: Heading to El Salvador « KeO BLoG

  18. Pingback: My El Salvadorian Adventure – Week #1 « KeO BLoG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2009 by in Keough Journal, Photography and tagged , .
