KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Thankful for…………….

It’s a quite Thanksgiving morning and I’m alone in my house enjoying a cup of coffee.  It’s nice having a few days off from work, although when you teach online you never truly get a day off – there’s always something you can work on or somebody to respond to. I’ve been thinking about what I am thankful for since going to bed last night. I must admit, I’ve been deeply troubled by the state of our great nation and the direction our “so called” leaders are taking us as a country.  With that said…I’m going to focus on positive things in this post and make an effort to leave my politics out of it (for the most part) so here it goes…

First and foremost I’m thankful for my family. I don’t know where I’d be without them.  I’m incredibly blessed to still have my parents living on this earth. They are (and always have been) a great source of strength and support to me.  I’m thankful for my children Adam and Andei.  What a wonderful gift they’ve been to me over the years.  I’m thankful that I got to visit my son (Peace Corp

Volunteer) last month in El Salvador.  I’m really proud of him and the work he is doing down there.  After almost 4 years of my daughter living away from me she is back now and has lived with me since last May.  What a tremendous gift her being here during her final year of High School has been even though we’ve had our share of ups and downs together.

I’m extremely thankful for my job and the various career opportunities I’ve had over the years.  In this time of employment uncertainty, I am particularly thankful to have meaningful work that I enjoy doing.  Even though I’m close to retirement I still get up in the morning and am excited about teaching art and photography + distance learning to our students and faculty at the college.

I’m very thankful for the FREE country I live in and pray it stays that way through these troubling political times. I’m also thankful for our awesome military and the selfless men and women who risk (and have given) their lives serving our nation.

I’m also thankful for our veterans and proud to count myself as one who has served our country.  I’m thankful for the Constitution of the United States and our Founding Fathers who had the vision and insight to create a document that is based on individual freedom and liberty.

I’m thankful for our FREEDOM and the fact that I can still articulate my views without fear of reprisal – freedom of speech is one of the first freedoms to be taken from people – usually before they even realize it has happened.

Cathy Crowell Looking at Student Work at SPE Print Sharing

I’m thankful for my wonderful friends and colleagues.  You’re lucky to go through life and be able to count all your friends on one hand.  I have been blessed with many friends even though I don’t see many of them very often.

I’m thankful for my health and my faith. Without faith there really isn’t any hope – at least in my opinion.  I’m thankful for the faith in God my parents instilled in me at a young age – it is constantly evolving, but has never completely left me and has gotten me through some very difficult times.

Happy Thanksgiving and God Bless America!

One comment on “Thankful for…………….

  1. Clay Barham
    November 28, 2009

    Obama said, community interests are more important than are individual interests, and since community has neither brain nor heart, it falls to the few governing elite to govern. His belief that the “State or the Government is the embodiment of all that is good and beneficial and that the individuals are wretched underlings, exclusively intent upon inflicting harm upon one another and badly in need of a guardian,” should be unchallenged. (Von Mises) No one must question him or his beliefs in the sacred task of governance, and his fellow supporters are as fanatical as the Muslims who would conquer the world. He, and his modern Democrats, is far from the libertarian Democrats of the 19th century, from Jefferson to Cleveland, who believed in individual freedom, the resulting free market, small government and America’s prosperity, as cited in THE CHANGING FACE OF DEMOCRATS on Amazon and claysamerica.com.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2009 by in Keough Journal and tagged .
