KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

It was not very long ago……..

It was not very long ago (15-20 years) that we lived in an analog world. There was no e-mail, IM, cell phones, internet, myspace, facebook, blogs, online classes, digital cameras, laptop computers, IPhones, YouTube, ITu nes, Podcasts, etc……………..

Think about that!

25 years ago I listened to music on LPR’s Vinyl Records not Cd’s or mp3’s and had a transistor radio. I didn’t know about e-mail and had never touched a computer.  Things have changed dramatically in the past 25 years in every aspect of our lives.

We took photographs with film cameras and had to develop them in actual chemicals instead of downloading them into our computers and attaching them to e-mails and uploading to facebook.

We called our family and friends with analog rotary phones and had to use pay phones because no one had a cell. Computers and digital technology have monumentally impacted every aspect of our lives. Sometimes when I am sorting through hundreds of e-mails and discussion posts I’m not so sure if it has been for the better.

Computers and digital technology have revolutionized how we communicate. They have changed our work places, the way we create, play and socialize.. To think I can have a conversation with my son Adam who is a Peace Corp volunteer in El Salvador using Skype and we can see each other with web cams and talk through microphones for free no less. Simply amazing! Although we have gotten so used to this technology it really isn’t all that amazing to us anymore – however the thought of all this  20 years ago would have been beyond belief.

Every aspect of our daily lives have been impacted by digital technology. Check out the blog post I wrote a year ago on this very subject. Click Here.

Your thoughts?

3 comments on “It was not very long ago……..

  1. photocrazy81
    January 31, 2010

    What’s funny Patrick is that my parents and I were talking about the conveniences of the technology we have today and how much of a burden it can be. Also the idea that they are doing away with such things as teaching children how to write in cursive and so on in elementary schools. And then I see that video that you have posted. I like how they did it.

  2. Jake Davis
    February 12, 2010

    Love the thoughts Patrick. I often feel extremely fortunate that I grew up inside the technology BOOM, but at the same time I feel like I missed out on the LPs and 8-tracks.

    I got this site address from Adam’s email. I want to come check out the auction in Morehead City in March.

    Hope you are doing well and enjoying life!

    Jake

  3. keoughp
    February 13, 2010

    All is well Jake on this end. It’s been a long time! Hope all is well with you and your family. I would love for you to come to the auction. I will send out a global e-mail about the exact times and date when I get things finalized. It will be last weekend of March – possibly a Sunday afternoon.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2010 by in Keough Journal, Teaching with Technology and tagged , , .