KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Adam “Peace Corp” Fundraiser Update

We are making headway with raising money for Adam’s Peace Corp Computer Lab initiative. We’ve raised a little over $1200 so far with about $2600 to go.  I’m planning a big Art Auction fundraiser for Sunday, March 28th at the Local Train Depot in Downtown Morehead City.  I’m now in the process of collecting art from local (and regional) artists that we can auction off at the event.  Hopefully the auction fundraiser will take us over the top with what Adam needs to move forward with the construction of a computer lab for the little school he teaches at in El Salvador. He has already raised the money for the computers by doing small fundraisers in his town.

Local artist Craig Gurganus from Fish Bouffant donated one of his unique and creative fish sculptures for the upcoming auction.  I’m also counting on many of the artists who exhibited their work at this year’s Art From the Heart exhibit to donate a piece as well.  I have verbal commitments from about 12-15 artists so far and will start calling artists in the coming weeks.  If you are an artist and are reading this and want to donate a piece of your art for the auction please post a comment to this blog and let me know how I can get with you to pick up your art work for the auction.

Adam is doing some great things in his remote village in El Salvador and hopefully we can make the difference for him to be able to get the computer lab up and running at his little village school.  There is literally no technology training in this region and Adam is trying to bring computers and some technology literacy to his remote village in El Salvador.

Any funds raised over the $2600 still needed will be donated to the Red Cross for the Haitian Relief efforts.  Please consider donating a work of art for the Art Auction last Sunday in March and if you can’t please consider making a donation of any amount you can (none too small) to this this Peace Corp link.

16 comments on “Adam “Peace Corp” Fundraiser Update

  1. Joe Champagne
    February 27, 2010

    Red Dog – If I mail you a print can you get it matted at your end?

  2. keoughp
    February 27, 2010

    Absolutely Joe!!! That would be awesome! I’ll send you my address in e-mail. Thanks so much buddy! I hope all is well with you and your family. I am heading to SPE National Conference in Philadelphia next week. Wish you were able to be there.

  3. Nancy Toothman
    February 27, 2010

    Okay Patrick,

    I’ve now just about finished with my piece.
    It’s one of my mixed media shadowboxes based on a 1978 trip to Haiti. 16″x16″ matted and framed. Hope someone likes it…I do. Ha.
    How do I get it to you?

    : ) Nancy

  4. keoughp
    February 27, 2010

    That’s great Nancy! You could just drop it by the college OR bring it to Art From the Heart tomorrow when you pick up your other pieces – I will be there shamelessly soliciting art for the auction 🙂

  5. Trish Hayes
    March 1, 2010

    Hey Patrick!
    I’ve been in touch with Robin but just to let you know, Henry and I are working on a show and are making a few extra prints for the auction!!
    Take care,
    Trish

  6. Patrick Keough
    March 1, 2010

    That’s great Trish! Thanks so much! I am going to get Adam J to get the pieces from Gville for me – Jackie Leebrick is sending one as well. Hope all is well with you and Henry! Just spoke to Adam on Sype and he is excited about how well this fundraiser is going.

  7. Adam Keough
    March 1, 2010

    Hey everyone, I just wanted to take a second to thank everyone that is participating in this project, the support from yall really means alot. Thank you so mush to Craig, and the rest of the artist. I wish that you could all come down here to visit and see the impact that you will be making in this area, at the end of the project we will be painting a mural on the classroom and you are all invited to help out, and concidering that I´m not much of a painter myself I could use your talents. Thank you all very much.

    With Love,
    Adam

  8. Pingback: Still Need More Art and Donations for Adam’s Peace Corp Project « KeO BLoG

  9. Pat Bland
    March 14, 2010

    Patrick I have a couple of pieces for you. Are you taking matted work? I can drop them off at the college tomorrow if that’s okay. They both will be from my travels in Latin America.

  10. keoughp
    March 14, 2010

    that will be awesome Pat! I am out of town until Wednesday. Just drop at the college front desk area and say it is for Patrick’s Art Auction. They will give me the work when I return from Durham. thanks!!

  11. Pingback: One Week Until Art Auction – Final Count Down! « KeO BLoG

  12. Jenifer Crowell
    March 20, 2010

    Hi Patrick,
    Jenifer Crowell here…….I can donate 1 or 2 pieces.Please call me 728-7080 or my cell (910)470-3020
    thanks!
    jen

  13. Jenifer Crowell
    March 20, 2010

    Please contact me re: fundraiser

  14. keoughp
    March 21, 2010

    Thanks Jenifer! I will look forward to hearing from you next week. Thanks for supporting this cause! Patrick

  15. Pingback: We Need Art Buyers this Sunday!!! « KeO BLoG

  16. Pingback: 45 + Artists Donating and Still Counting « KeO BLoG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2010 by in ArT, Keough Journal.
