KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

A Creative Morning

Ok…so I have been taking it easy for Spring Break and getting my house and yard cleaned up. I have really been enjoying the “down time” this past week. Today I woke up and was feeling creative so I decided to give myself an art project.   These 2 mixed media (point of departure pictures) took me about 3 hours from the initial concept to completion.  I am still tweaking them, but essentially they are done.

I started with 2 photographs I took in Ireland last year and printed them on mat surface digital art paper.  Then I spray mounted them to small canvas boards. Once I did that I took cray pass and using the same colors on the pictures  drew expressive colored borders around them. I then went in with acrylic paint and essentially the same colors found in the pictures and painted around the images in an abstract (painterly) fashion. I then scanned a page from my journal for the cottage image – printed the scan – cut it in strips and glued it to the board as a border around the thatched cottage. I also added (glued) additional pieces of scrap colored drawings I had at the bottom of my paint box to the flowered picture.  Once I did that I photographed the 2 pieces and fine tuned them with levels, posterization and watercolor filter in Photoshop – Walla! That was fun!

It takes me a few days to truly decompress and even be able to think about making any art after being in a teaching / working mindset.  I am finally able to redirect my energy into some creative endeavors after 4 days of relaxation and rejuvenation. To bad I have to go back to work Monday. Just when I was getting into a creative spirit.

Finding Respite

One comment on “A Creative Morning

  1. sami Alam
    April 9, 2010

    it was one of the wonderful post i’ve seen…
    outstanding balance of stuffzz….
    Amazing work….
    learnd a lot
    Visit mine and plz plz plz post your comments…

    Thank you…i’ll b in touch….

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2010 by in ArT.
