KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

The One Year Plan

I’ve officially implemented my “one year plan” in preparation for retirement from my jobs (teaching/administration) at Carteret Community College and hopeful relocation to Wilmington, NC where I’ll teach online after a six month forced sabbatical from the state employees system. Maybe I’ll find more time to write, paint, travel, basically start the next chapter of this journey we call life. My daughter Andei will be off to college in Rome, Italy and Adam will be getting out of the Peace Corp. Who knows…he may come to Wilmington as well since he went to college there and has lots of friends in the town. I’ve always liked Wilmington. It has a great historic downtown area, beaches, university and an arts scene. Needless to say, I am ready for a change. I’ve certainly been blessed over the years to have such a great job and home here in Morehead City however this city boy is ready for a change of scenery.

Now its just a matter of fixing up my house and getting it sold (water view potential buyers) so I can pay for a new place, preferably without a big yard and close to historic downtown Wilmington. I’ve enjoyed a great “long” chapter of my life here in Morehead with a fair share of ups and downs. Things are finally settling down however with my children grown and closing in on the 30 year mark for state employment.

Having Andei living with me this past year has been an incredible blessing for both of us, however it hasn’t been easy considering we were not together for almost 4 years prior to her living with me during her senior year in High School. That’s another story for another day.

So that’s the plan although…God may very well have a completely different plan for me and I must be open to a change in the plan as well. We must all keep in mind that famous quote from the Robert Burns poem and Steinbeck’s novella Of Mice and Men. “The best-laid plans of mice and men / Go oft awry”

Click Here for more detailed information about my house.

One comment on “The One Year Plan

  1. souldiaries
    May 20, 2010

    a new chapter..all the best, may it be a smooth and gentle one, that brings you much joy..at least you have a plan, even if they oft go awry, it is a strong starting position. i think it is best for me to sit down and start on my own one-year plan, thanks for the nudge

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2010 by in Keough Journal.
