KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Collage Making Workshop

I must say I really enjoyed the collage making workshop today conducted by mixed media artist Georgia Mason. Six hours of non-stop art making has worn me out. Art is all about problem solving both technically and conceptually. I feel good about the pieces I made today and have come away with some new ideas, techniques and methods for doing mixed media work – I especially enjoyed working with colored tissue papers and fabrics. Here are my four finished pieces from the workshop.

The most difficult technical problem to work through with collage is melding all the various disparate elements into a visually cohesive composition. I need more time to get my technique down with this, although I feel good about what I accomplished in six hours. The goal in my opinion is coming up with a strong concept and then technically executing it – the challenge for me is knowing when to stop and not using to many elements in one piece.

2 comments on “Collage Making Workshop

  1. Georgia Mason
    May 23, 2010

    I enjoyed watching you work Patrick. Very exciting personal collage work.
    It was fun for me to see the papers you chose and how you worked with them intuitively and creatively. Thanks for coming to the workshop.

  2. Patrick Keough
    May 23, 2010

    I really enjoyed the workshop Georgia. I have so many new ideas I want to explore now that I have a better grasp on how to meld the materials together. It was fun! Thanks for sharing your expertise.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 22, 2010 by in ArT, Keough Journal and tagged , , .
