KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

No Sleep Last Night

I’m sitting in a Dunkin Donut shop at 6:30am after a trip to Walmart to buy some allergy medicine and nasal decongestants. What a freaking horrible night! I woke up at 2:30am and couldn’t breath through my nose. Yea I know…spare me the details. I don’t know if I’m allergic to something in my house or if it’s this front that’s blown in triggering my allergies into hyper-drive. The meds haven’t kicked in yet so I’m just sipping my coffee and hoping I’ll be able to breath soon. I learned last night that even if you can breath through your mouth – if your nose is totally stuffed up there is no way to sleep. I sat up in my recliner and tried to doze off, but every time I did I would wake myself back up because my breathing would go to my nose and I’d jump up gasping for air. Needless to say….last night was rough. I did get a lot of reading done though.

Peppers in the Windowsill

Here is a little photo I took yesterday morning while making my french press coffee. I had some peppers left over from dinner the night before and just tossed them on the windowsill. As I was cleaning the coffee pot I looked up and saw how the morning light was illuminating them causing a cool little reflection. Just goes to show you can get great photos in the most mundane, simple little places. You’ll just have to bear with me here because I am basically killing time while I wait for the allergy medicine to start working. It’s been 30 minutes and I’m still completely stuffed up. May go to the Sports Center next and sit in the steam room. I don’t ever remember being this congested. I had my carpets cleaned yesterday and I’m wondering if that didn’t trigger this allergic reaction. I just hope I can get some sleep later – I’m going to be worthless at work today if i can’t at least get a nap after lunch. Ok…just bear with me here – I’m just killing time hoping these allergy pills kick in – my coffee is cold and I guess I’ll head home and try to get some rest before going to work.

2 comments on “No Sleep Last Night

  1. Patricia
    June 10, 2010

    Good afternoon Patrick. Hopefully, you are getting a good nap about now. I can certainly relate to the allergy problem. Its hard to sleep or do much at all, when you cannot breathe ! I hope the medicine you got at Walmart worked, and you are feeling much better!I have allergies as well, so I know how you felt!
    I enjoy reading your blogs. Gives me a break from the normal routine stuff! You are an interesting writer.
    Also your photo, Peppers In The Windowsill is very nice ! Yes, the morning sunlight was hitting it just right! Good color and contrast! I like the Reds and The Yellows.

  2. keoughp
    June 11, 2010

    Yes Patricia…I got a nap in yesterday after taking some claritin and using nasal spray to help me breathe. Seems like my allergies get worse every year. I’m glad you enjoy the blog.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2010 by in Keough Journal.
