KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

It’s Not Easy Being a Father

This is a “shout out” to all those Father’s out there! It’s not easy being a Dad in this day and age. Especially a single Dad (and Mom of course). I must admit I’ve been extremely blessed with a great and loving Father. He’s been my role model from the time my son Adam was born almost 26 years ago. Whenever I am faced with a decision that relates to my children, I always ask myself “what would my Dad do?” and things always seem to work themselves out. My Dad (William Keough) has always been there for me since day one of my life. He is a WWII veteran and a member of the “Great Generation” who are unfortunately dying off. I have so many wonderful memories from my childhood in New York. It’s hard to believe just how much things (culture) has changed in 40 years. The challenges my parents faced back in the 1960’s and 70’s were very different than the ones I’ve been confronted with as a father. I grew up in a much more innocent time and am glad for that – children are forced to grow up so much quicker now and lose their innocence due to the inundation of secular / media culture.

My Uncle Joe and Dad at Joe's Birthday Party last year

I consider it a great privilege and huge responsibility being a Dad to my son Adam and daughter Andei. I’ll be the first to admit that I could have done many things better and could have been a better role model. I have stumbled many times along the way. There really isn’t a training manual for Father’s except for being guided by the love one has for his children. Over the past 25 years I’ve experienced great joy and deep sorrow in my role as Father.

My children and I have been through divorces, death, sickness and disappointments (just like so many other families) yet through it all we have stuck together and somehow survived because of the love we share for one another. I’ll always be Bill Keough’s son even though I don’t see him very much due to the many miles that separate us just like Adam will always be my son no matter how far away he lives. Adam, Andei and I are all bonded together by blood, memories shared and love.

So Happy Father’s Day to all you fathers out there!
I wouldn’t trade my role as Dad for anything in this world even with the daily challenges, heartbreaks and occasional conflicts. We just have to embrace it all and keep doing the best we can as we try to guide our children and be there for them through the good times and the bad.

My Dad and Uncle Joe walking away from their parents grave site sharing memories

3 comments on “It’s Not Easy Being a Father

  1. Pat
    June 18, 2010

    Happy Fathers Day to all the Fathers out there. To still have your Dad is such a blessing from God. I lost my Father when I was 22 years old. I was, being the youngest of two daughters, often referred to as “daddy’s little girl”, as he used to tell everyone as he bragged on me for whatever reason! I miss him every day, and especially on Father’s Day; so, to all who still have their Dad’s , go pick him a bouquet of flowers, him, take him out to eat, or just do whatever his heart desires. Spend time with him as often as you can, and at least call him often. I was living in Germany when my Dad passed, but we wrote letters to each other, and I treasure all the memories we made together all my life. He was a very special Father! Happy Fathers Day! Be Happy!

  2. keoughp
    June 18, 2010

    Yes Patricia I am blessed to still have my Father living. I just wish he didn’t live so far away from me. I do plan a trip to New York for August to get up and see him. I don’t look forward to the day when I don’t have my parents on this earth – I know it must be hard not having yours.

  3. souldiaries
    June 21, 2010

    this was such a beautiful post. so seldom do we get to see men talk about their dads like this – so thanks for stretching out and saying all the things you said. my dad is 84, still gets up at 4.30am most mornings to go to work and i feel so so lucky that he grew to be so old so that i got the chance to say ‘i’m sorry i didnt get you when i was young but i so get you now and all the things you did for me’. i guess it has also given him a chance to say things. i see sometimes in him a look of regret about stuff, but i try remind him every day, that i know he did the very best he could do. my dad also lives far from me, but i speak almost every day…and yip i def understand how you must long to spend more time with your dad as i do for mine.
    thanks for such a beautiful post from the heart, and ps Happy Father’s Day to you for yesterday

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2010 by in Keough Journal and tagged , .
