KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Counting Blessings…Look on the Bright Side

It’s so easy to let the little (and big) things in this life get us down. I’m talking DOWN! Whether it be money (usually lack of), politics (makes me freakin crazy), disappointments, relationships, personal set-backs and/or health issues – any one of these things can act as a catalyst to bring us down and cause major stress and anxiety in our lives.

I must admit… I have a tendency to let little things get to me and negatively impact my day, however when I take a good hard look at my situation in life, I want to smack myself upside the head because when the dust settled on all the madness, chaos, pain and disappointments I’ve encountered over the past 40 years I actually have it pretty damn good.

Ok…I’ll admit it. I’ve been really struggling with my daughter being gone (that empty nest thing) and coming to the realization that my kids are grown and we are all starting a new chapter in our lives. A big chapter in my life has come to and end and another one is starting up. I’m not sure what the future holds and worrying about tomorrow is another cause of stress so WHY even think about it?

So I was riding my new bike tonight and just thinking how good it is just to be alive. The weather was perfect here at the coast – I had a cool breeze in my face, Floggin Molly was playing on my Ipod, the kids are doing fine and I have my health and a job SO it hit me like a ton of bricks that so many people in this world don’t even have a decent roof over their heads or enough food to eat and I live in this great (FREE) country and want for nothing as far as the the basic essentials. I have no right to be down about my stupid little worries. It’s all about keeping it all in perspective.

When it comes right down to it….it’s all about CONTROL and our lack of being in control of our lives and our destinies. Letting go and giving control over to God is a constant struggle for me, and I would imagine most people because we humans want to be in control and let’s face it we’re not. I couldn’t control the fact that my NFL football team (Vikings) lost their second game with my main man Brett Farve at the helm – I can’t control what happens to Andei in Rome or Adam in El Salvador or the direction of our country. You just have to let it go. LET IT GO! Easier said than done though isn’t it?

Right now…at this very moment in time I’m going to enjoy my porch, looking out at the water across the street from my house, the sound of the crickets and the knowledge that things could be so much worse. No matter where we are in life, no matter how bad it gets we all must remember that there are people in this world who have it worse – are struggling to just stay alive from day to day. I guess its just a matter of being aware and thankful for the blessings we have no matter how small and be thankful for them. There are always going to be hurdles and challenges in our lives. That’s a given. It’s how we deal with them that’s important. Looking back….the things that I stressed over – the big disappointments and struggles all worked themselves out.

Enough of my rambling. I’m cooking turkey burgers on the grill and there is still some football to watch on the tube. So enjoy the little stuff and try not to stress the big stuff – it all seems to work out in the end one way or another because we really don’t have that much control over things. Try not to worry! What’s the point? Enjoy this video. It is a hoot and does put things into perspective. You gotta love Monty Python!

4 comments on “Counting Blessings…Look on the Bright Side

  1. souldiaries
    September 20, 2010

    hahaha thanks for that early morning laugh K, i was just about to send out an explosive email to someone who’s been driving me crazy and have just gone and filed it in drafts. it seemed kinda silly and unimportant after reading your post and then listening to monty python, LOL, thanks x hope you enjoyed the turkey burgers

    • Ozaawaakook
      September 20, 2010

      Boozhoo (Red Dog) Keough, At our age we can reflect often on how good we have it and the fact that it was earned by hard work in a country with so much opportunity. We all know feeling down is natural.. just like anger….its just an emotion get over it. Embrace the naturel world around you and be your own best cheerleader. Thanks for the Monty Python, I shared it with my students. Now they know for sure I’m weird. Chii-Miigwich.

  2. keoughp
    September 20, 2010

    Thanks for the reality check Gerry! I hear ya loud and clear! Glad you liked the video – it is a hoot but does have a good message for all of us.

  3. Pat Scott
    September 25, 2010

    I can relate to your thoughts..and whole heartedly agree. Sometimes, when we step back and look at our lives,we need to count our blessings, istead of complaining about what is NOT right in our lives; we really do not have it so bad at all. Life is good!! When it hands you lemons, we just have to learn to make lemonade!It is not that easy sometimes, but we must keep a positive thought always in your mind.and thank God you are who you are! There are SO many Blessings we as humans sometimes seem to forget about! I wish you love, peace and happiness.Take care Patrick. God Bless you ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 19, 2010 by in Keough Journal and tagged .
