KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Tuning it out…

Processing and making sense out of the vast array of information and media bombardment that comes screaming at us everyday can be absolutely overwhelming. At least for me. If I don’t filter the constant stream of visual content that I come in contact with it gets me stressed out and filled with anxiety. Especially all things political.

Things were so much simpler 30 – 40 years ago. I think part of it is the fact we have access to so much more information today then ever before. With just a click of the mouse you can be taken to the protests in Egypt or the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq, starving children in Haiti or drug wars in Mexico.

The world is so much smaller thanks to the internet and everyone being wired to it. With that said…I feel relatively helpless when it comes to making any kind of a real difference politically and/or socially. Sure we have the right to vote and express our thoughts and opinions with social networks, but are we really having any positive impact on the culture?

I’ve learned to tune much of the “noise” out and try to focus on things I can control. The most important concern for me at this point in my life is being there for my 2 children and immediate family. It seems the older I get the more I want to circle the wagons and let the rest of the world swirl around me. Technology is changing (evolving) so rapidly its hard to stay abreast of it. I wonder if all this highly sophisticated technology is having a positive impact on our lives and the human condition in general? I would like to think so, but I believe all these new technologies are a mixed blessing in many ways. There’s a lot of bad with the good when it comes to all things digital.

I can remember a time not so long ago when people didn’t walk around all day texting into digital devices or sitting and staring into computer screens. I make much of my living teaching online and am thankful for the good living it’s provided for me, yet I do feel chained to technology and as the years go by feel like I’ve been taken hostage by it. It all can be overwhelming to say the least.

At least for me. How about you?

5 comments on “Tuning it out…

  1. Sunny Shannon Ingram
    February 14, 2011

    mmm. well I do not own a TV, I do not have a blackberry anymore and I have tuned it out to the best of my ability. My news comes from the internet yes, but from the online sources I choose and from NPR/BBC. I believe that unfortunately our technology has some very negative as well as very positive aspects. The worst being, I feel, it has caused our younger generation to loose/miss the human touch, has desensitized them (not all mind you) and reinforces that need for immediate gratification. We have lost our front porches and our dining room tables….. I too feel the need to find refuge in my family and close friend. To simplify.

  2. Pat Scott
    February 14, 2011

    I too agree, that the rapid growth of high technology has completely changed the way most of us do things, and whether we like iot or not, it does have a profound effect on our lives. Being a ‘computer geek’, which simply means I am very much internet and computer minded, and dependent, it does have it’s advantages in many ways. On the other hand it is very much a different way of life for the baby boomer generation,which we both grew up in, where everything was extremely different. The adjustment is sometimes difficult. I agree. I just try to not ‘overload’ myself with too much , and sometimes, force myself, to do things the way I grew up,and get down to what has always been a comfort zone to me, and do things the ‘old fashioned way’. It DOES help…..a lot! . We have to learn to adapt to change in order to enjoy life, and hopefully find contentment in it. Life is a constant change, and has been since the beginning of time! My best to you!

  3. keoughp
    February 14, 2011

    I think its a matter of finding a balance in our use of technology and how much we let ourselves get exposed to the constant stream of media that comes at us every day of our lives. Sometimes I feel like running off to El Salvador or some remote village in South America and “get off the grid” as they say. I make my living online for the most part and this option just isn’t practical for me until I retire which is still a few years down the road unfortunately. Yes…I think the front porch and conversations around dinner tables is becoming a thing of the past unfortunately. When I ride my bike through the neighborhoods in my area it seems no one it outside anymore. You don’t see many kids playing and you don’t see people out on their porches. Kind of sad. Thanks for posting our thoughts!

  4. souldiaries
    February 17, 2011

    patrick please join Facebook, more technology i know but at least i can stalk you more easily 🙂 and also know when your birthday is!

  5. souldiaries
    March 11, 2011

    and ps. i like the thinking photo

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2011 by in Keough Journal and tagged .
