KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Father’s Day… Again

This Father’s Day is a little too quiet for me. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t miss my two kids who are not kids anymore. I had my daughter Andei living with me last year and that was a real treat (for the most part). She cooked me a great breakfast and made a beautiful Father’s Day card that really choked me up

This year she’s in college in Rome, Italy and my son Adam decided to stay in El Salvador another year after his Peace Corp service ended to work for Catholic Charities.

I love my kids dearly, however its time to come to grips with the fact that they’re off starting their own life journey’s and maybe its time for me to be thinking about pursuing some other endeavors over and above work.

I’m also really blessed to have my Dad still healthy and on this earth. He is a WWII veteran and has been incredible role model for me. Whenever I don’t know what to do when it comes to being a Dad I just ask myself what would my Dad do and things usually turn out alright.

So a big SHOUT OUT to all you Fathers out there! Some of you may be like me who may not have had the best success with marriage, but did make a concerted effort to do a better job at Fatherhood.

“My father didn’t tell me how to live; he lived, and let me watch him do it.” — Clarence Budington Kelland

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2011 by in Keough Journal and tagged .
