KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

El Salvadorian Adventure…Random Thoughts and Photos

I’m staying on the coast of El Salvador at a rustic hostile that looks out over the ocean. My son Adam and I had a great reunion yesterday after I landed in San Salvador. I had not seen Adam since Christmas. I can’t get over what a great location he has to live and the fact that he landed a flexible job that allows him to surf.

It is very easy to decompress in this tropical environment. I normally have a lot of difficulty relaxing and letting go when I am home in Morehead City, NC. Being in this remote region of El Salvador with no internet access forces me to stop and re-evaluate things.

The computer and cell phone have in many ways become a ball and chain to many people including myself. Escaping here for a week gives me an opportunity to step-back and access just how important all the digital tools are in my life. Its evident they have been controlling me more than than I would like.

Its impossible to live in the moment – to be truly present when we are constantly absorbed and immersed in the web. Sitting here with Adam just enjoying a cup of coffee and some breakfast with the sound of big waves crashing on the shore is a welcome break from my daily routine.

It’s mentally and spiritually healthy to break out of my routine and just enjoy these precious little moments here on the coast of El Salvador with my son. The constant demands of work and online teaching has been emotionally draining. It takes getting away to a far off place to truly realize how out of balance I’ve become.

So many people including myself are sucked into the digital void and don’t even realize it. I’m looking forward to a time when I can spend less time on the computer and more time enjoying the little things in life.

This week is a time for rejuvenation and healing. A time to “step-back” and let the rest of the world and its constant demands go by. It will be there next week when I return from this little respite. Right now I’m enjoying some French pressed coffee – the rhythmic sound of the crashing waves in the distance and a magnificent scenic view.

Its a completely different world here in El Salvador. The people are incredibly friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The pace is much slower – people are not thinking about the next place or appointment they have to be at and seem enjoy simple moments in time.

Its so refreshing to do nothing. To just rest, write and read with no plan except to climb the biggest freaking Volcano in El Salvador and this old guy actually did it – it about killed me but I refused to quit until I got to the top. Posted from a little internet bar on the coast of El Salvador. More to come later….

5 comments on “El Salvadorian Adventure…Random Thoughts and Photos

  1. souldiaries
    August 5, 2011

    it sounds like Heaven. what a lovely post with important observations which i could do well with taking on board. well done on making it to the top, have a wonderful rest of trip…not that you need any telling:)

    • Stacy Hall
      August 7, 2011

      Enjoy it while you can! Try to take a little of it back home with you.
      stacy

  2. Patrick Keough
    August 9, 2011

    It was like a little bit of heaven Viv! Now I am back to work and am day dreaming about swinging in my hammock, nodding off with a book and looking out at the vast blue ocean with its giant, rolling waves.

  3. Pingback: Off to El Salvador! « KeO BLoG

  4. Pingback: Climbing The Santa Anna Volcano | KeO BLoG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 4, 2011 by in Keough Journal, Photography and tagged , , .
