KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

One More Year!

I must admit I’ve had a great and restful break from teaching since summer semester ended July 28th. I’ve had some fun and challenging adventures the past month first starting in New York to pick up my daughter Andei from her year in Rome, to a teachers conference in Denver and then my week long vacation to in El Salvador.

School starts today and it’s back to teaching photography, art appreciation and art history both online and in the classroom. It’s also back to my administrative duties as Director of Distance Learning. Today will be hectic putting out fires as online classes start-up.

ONE MORE school year and then I’m retiring from my Community College teaching/administration position after 30 years of service next August 1st.

This doesn’t mean I am going to stop working and teaching. I plan on redirecting more energy into creative pursuits such as writing, traveling, photography, painting and conducting workshops and seminars for Vasa Transmedia, in addition to picking up a few online courses to supplement my retirement.

I see a great deal of potential working with Roberto and Vasa Transmedia and hope to spend more time teaching Photography Workshops like the one we have planned in Sardinia, Italy next Spring, in addition to online workshops.

This next year is going to fly by so I will make an effort to “stay in the moment” and enjoy the journey – enjoy my daughter living here with me and savor this last year teaching for the Photography Program at Carteret Community College. New adventures and challenges await me. Retirement is just a “state of mind” and for me its just going to empower me to explore more creative endeavors – things that I have put on the back burner due to the demands of my teaching and administrative duties.

There are books to write, countries to visit, photographs to be taken and more adventures to embark on. Until then…I better get myself ready to go to work.

Click Here for a list of Upcoming Vasa Workshops! I have two coming up in the next year.

2 comments on “One More Year!

  1. photocrazy81
    August 19, 2011

    It’s only been what… three weeks since we’ve officially graduated, and it feels like years! It was sad to see everyone talking about going back to school, knowing that I wasn’t going back this year. 😦 Going to start looking at other colleges for photography though! [in case I don’t make it to SCAD] I haven’t been on wordpress in a while [I know slacking], so I’m going to have to go back to your previous blog posts and catch up.

    I hope that the following semesters treat you well Patrick! I look forward to reading more of your posts! 😀

  2. keoughp
    August 21, 2011

    Its hard to believe how fast the semesters go by Christina! One minute you were showing up for Cathy’s Fundamentals class and then next you were being handed your diploma at graduation. Keep making photographs and keep your continue to follow your dreams of continuing your photographic education and career in photography. Its not how smart you are…its how hard you are willing to work to accomplish your goals and dreams.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 15, 2011 by in Keough Journal and tagged , .
