KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

No Power – No Internet – No Worries…..

Now that Hurricane Irene has passed and I got my electricity and internet back last night, I’ve been thinking how nice it was to actually have some time hanging out with my daughter without all the distractions. We actually spent some time talking together without looking up from laptops. It was fun sitting on our porch in candle light talking, reading and enjoying the adventure of being without electricity or internet as the Hurricane approached.

I can’t even imagine living back 100 – 200 years ago. No air conditioning, computers, electric lights, refrigerators, creature comforts we have taken for granted. What a very different life people led 50 – 75 – 100 years ago? Can you even imagine living without your cell phone? Your laptop? Facebook? E-mail…..etc? I know it would be a huge struggle for me.

It was stressful being without electric and internet access, but I think it would just be a matter of time before I could get used to it and possibly start to like a simpler and slower lifestyle. There is no doubt this thing we call the internet is addictive and very controlling on our lives. Don’t get me wrong, I make my living online – I’m just conceptualizing what life would be like without it and these past few days without power gave me a little glimpse of another reality.

Anyway….Hurricane Irene is history and life is slowly getting back to normal. Spent the day yesterday doing yard clean-up and now I’m back online, checking e-mail and my online classes. Loving my air conditioning, stove to cook on and that cold beer waiting for me in my refrigerator. I hope everyone made it through the storm relatively unscathed with little or no damage to homes and personal property.

Yes…things are back to normal for now until that next Hurricane slams through Eastern North Carolina.

I took this shot Saturday while driving around town as the storm was subsiding.

Old Parked Bus Through my Windshield

6 comments on “No Power – No Internet – No Worries…..

  1. wordwarriorblog
    August 29, 2011

    i LOVE the windshield pic. i hear you re the internet. i sometimes just want to have a 48 hour self ban on it, but so much of what i do is based here…and of course i wouldnt know you if not for it…but yes i do think a one-day tech free day is a good idea. glad you and andei made it through irene

  2. Louise Mathews
    August 30, 2011

    Thanks, Patrick! We fled the storm to a family cabin where there was no TV (due to a recent lighning strike from a previous storm) and no internet. It was actually quite restful, though we had to find a Starbucks so we could find out what was happening in Carteret County! Louise Mathews

  3. keoughp
    August 30, 2011

    Yes Louise it is peaceful without TV, internet and our other creature comforts. Thank goodness for Starbucks! Back to work tomorrow!

  4. Roberto
    September 5, 2011

    Patrick… I am happy you and your daughter were safe.

  5. keoughp
    September 5, 2011

    Thanks Roberto! All is good and things are settling back to “normal” whatever that is.

  6. JH
    September 5, 2011

    Love your work Pat thanks for sharing your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 29, 2011 by in Keough Journal and tagged , , .
