KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Travels Trials, Tribulations and Joys

Sunset in El Tunco

I finally made it to my son Adam’s home located near a little surf resort 30 minutes from San Salvador called El Tunco, which means pig in Spanish. They named the town after a pig because there is a giant rock coming out of the water in front of the town that supposedly used to look like a pig until the waves and weather wore the pigs likeness away.

I must admit traveling is getting more and stressful for me – especially as I get older and have less patience for the lines, pat downs, customs check points and hectic pace of it all. The following is an excerpt from yesterday’s travel journal to show you what I mean.

” Sitting in an airplane in Atlanta waiting to fly out to El Salvador and spend a much needed weeks vacation with my son Adam. Looks like we are going to be taking off a little late due some maintenance issue. The flight to Atlanta was interesting to say the least. I had an aisle seat in the very back row of the small commuter plane and as the last of the passengers boarded I noticed a very VERY large woman coming down the aisle towards we clutching a bag of fruit and a very large purse. My conservative estimate is she was at least 300 + pounds. Yes! You guessed it! She had the seat next to mine. I got up – let her squirm her way to her seat and when she sat down it became very evident that she took up almost both seats. I was literally jammed against the armrest as she got settled in. She couldn’t get buckled in so the flight attendant had to bring her TWO seat belt extensions. Luckily the flight to Atlanta was only a little over an hour. Oh the joys of travel!”

Adam picked me up at the airport. The place was a madhouse with hundreds of people coming home for Christmas. After jumping through the customs and passport checkpoint hoops and grabbing my bag I made it outside to be blasted by the tropical heat. The sweatshirt had to go!

I knew I was in El Salvador when the pick-up truck in front of us as we drove to the beach had a family sitting in the back with a fan spinning in the wind keeping them cool. You can’t make this stuff up! I grabbed my camera and had to document it for proof.

We were invited to lunch by our friend and local El Salvadorian TV celebrity Regina who prepared us a marvelous lunch – her beautiful home looks out over the entire city. What a view!

Adam Relaxing with a Surf Magazine with his Dog Peanut by his side

Putting up with the anxiety of traveling is still worth it when you can finally kick back and relax in a hammock with a good book and a magnificent view of the pacific ocean. Nap time!

3 comments on “Travels Trials, Tribulations and Joys

  1. Blue Line
    December 20, 2011

    looks like here in middle east

  2. souldiaries
    December 20, 2011

    too beautiful patty. the last pic makes all the trials seem okay to get there to that point. had such a laugh re the large lady ending up next to you hehe. i head off home in the next few days and wont have internet access but look forward to catching your posts on my return. take care, and do have a good rest xx

  3. keoughp
    December 25, 2011

    It has been an amazing, fun filled adventure here in El Salvador Vivian. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas holiday with your family. I fly back home tomorrow. I just hope another “large” person doesn’t share my seat 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 20, 2011 by in Keough Journal, Photography, Travel and tagged , , .
