KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Love that Light and Shadow…

Every time I notice those dramatic long shadows cast by the late afternoon or early morning sun I want to grab my camera. There’s something mysterious about light and shadow and how it transforms and activates normally mundane, everyday subject matter that makes me want to take pictures.

You don’t have to travel to exotic places to make unique and visually interesting photographs. As much as I love to travel, I can’t always be flying to Ireland, Italy or Central America to make photographs so I try to be receptive and open to potential subject matter for pictures around my house and in and around my local community.

Its so easy to become desensitized to places we spend most of our time in. The fact is, there can be great photographic opportunities where ever we find ourselves – even in our own backyard or front porch.

The light was absolutely fantastic yesterday afternoon here on the coast of North Carolina. I was relaxing with a good book in the hammock on my front porch when I noticed how crisp the light was and the shadows falling across the road, my yard and even in on my sun porch.

Needless to say I pulled out my Canon 5D and a Mamiya Medium Format film camera and started framing compositions before the sun dipped under the horizon. My adrenalin starts flowing when I have my camera in hand and thinking about how I’m going to frame my potential subjects no matter how abstract or simple they may be.

Its quite different shooting film vs. digital. These images are from my digital camera – I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to process the film images. Film photography to me has a little more mystery and magic to it. Film photography is fast becoming a thing of the past. I’m glad to see young photographers and artists still using film for their creative explorations.

I have not shot much film in the past 5 years or so, but now that my daughter Andei shoots almost exclusively with film she has gotten me inspired to pick up my film cameras again.

One comment on “Love that Light and Shadow…

  1. souldiaries
    February 1, 2012

    patrick i love what you see through your lens, and how you capture it for us to share x dont stop please

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2012 by in Keough Journal, Photography and tagged .
