KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Photo Therapy….

I find it very difficult to remain positive, upbeat and centered with all the madness and corruption in the world swirling around me from every media outlet, in addition to the constant bureaucratic “senseless” demands I face working at the college level these days. Life used to be much simpler and stress free, but no more unfortunately. I’m sure I’m not the only one feeling the weight of this crazy world on my shoulders. One of the outlets I have other than working out to escape the negative bombardment on my psyche is to go make photographs.

This afternoon my daughter Andei and I decided to jump in the car with our cameras and go follow the late afternoon light and see if we could make some good photos in and around our neighborhood. I taught a photo workshop last week at the Jacksonville Arts Council and one thing I stressed to my students was the fact that you can make (not take) great photographs anywhere if you truly look for them and train your eye to SEE the subtle details in every external reference that comes across your path.

As soon as I put myself in the “photo zone” as I like to call it, the pressures of everyday life melt away and I totally focus on making photographs. Making visually unique and interesting images is not all that hard if you train yourself to be in the moment and break potential subject matter down to its essence. That was my mission this afternoon and I must say it was a 90 minute escape from the “real” world.

Andei went her way and I went mine as we embarked on our late afternoon photographic sojourn. You have heard of art therapy – making photographs is a kind of therapy for the heart, mind and soul as well.

Here are some pictures from our outing. Enjoy!

St. Frances Statue in Late Afternoon Light

Abandoned Motel @ Atlantic Beach

The Textures of Beach Sand

Atlantic Beach Sand and Shed

Red Door Knob

Building and Shadow

Motel Closed for Season

Andei's Idea for a Photo

Heading Back Home

3 comments on “Photo Therapy….

  1. Aaron Cohen Photography
    February 25, 2012

    Wow! Such beautiful photos! I am a WordPress photographer as well, so I love seeing posts like this! Great job, and keep it up!

  2. Christina Taylor
    February 26, 2012

    It’s true. Sometimes the best stress relief comes from holding a camera in your hands and only seeing the world through our viewfinders. I hope that your stress lessens since this is your last year at the college!

  3. keoughp
    February 26, 2012

    Thanks for the kind words Aaron and yes Christina my stress level always comes down a few notches when I go out to photograph. I contribute to me stress by taking on so many freelance teaching and consulting jobs – I plan to cut way back after when I retire from the college July 1st. I hope to do a lot of traveling and photography this summer.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2012 by in Keough Journal, Photography and tagged , , .
