KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Looking Back and then Ahead….

Its a quiet Sunday morning here on the coast of North Carolina. I just brewed a pot of coffee and as I poured my first cup it hit me that I’m actually retiring from my teaching and administrator positions in less than 3 months.  I can still remember when I was hired for my first position with a Community College back in 1979. I had recently gotten discharged from active duty in the Army and somehow stumbled upon a job opening at Central Carolina Community College in Sanford NC looking for someone with photography skills.  I was working in a low pay darkroom job making next to nothing so I submitted an application and remember being surprised when they offered me the position as Audio/Visual Technician 33 years ago.

I got my first taste of working in academia back at that small college in Sanford and it was soon after that when I decided to use my G.I. Bill and go back to college and earn my Masters of Fine Arts degree from East Carolina. I realized pretty quickly that I was not going anywhere in the educational system without a masters degree so I only stayed in that first state job 2 years before heading to Greenville NC and enrolling in graduate school.

I’ve been working for Community Colleges and other state agencies ever since, even while going to Graduate school back in the early 80’s I kept a part-time job working in a media center at a community college.

Its been a great career journey and consider myself extremely lucky to have had so many exciting opportunities and learning experiences since Long Island for the US Army in the early 70’s.

Over the years I have meet some wonderful people and made many great friends who have contributed to my growth as an artist, photographer, teacher and eventually administrator for distance learning.

Now I have no real intentions of retiring from work in general. I plan to continue teaching art history online after my six month waiting period is up, in addition to putting more time and energy into working with Roberto Muffoletto and the VASA Transmedia project. I see this is being a big part of  my next career journey. applying everything I’ve learned about distance learning and teaching art and photography in the online environment into the private sector.

I’m not wasting anytime because I’ll be teaching an advanced online workshop for VASA this coming May on teaching photography and art online, in addition to helping to coordinate our summer photography workshop program.

Life is as exciting and challenging as you want to make it so I don’t look at retirement as an end – I see it as a new beginning and look forward to having more time to pursue those things that truly interest me like my own personal photography, making art, writing and taking what I have learned in the past and applying these varied skill sets to my future. There are so many place to go, things to do and adventures waiting to be had.

onward!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2012 by in Keough Journal, Photography and tagged , , .
