KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Next Leg of the Journey

My favorite time to write is early in the morning when I first get out of bed and get my coffee brewing.  I used to wake up early every morning and write in my journal, but since I’ve been blogging and teaching too many online classes the daily journaling  fell to the way side due to a lack of time and focus.

Its really quiet in my house this dreary, wet drizzly morning. The rain, lightning and thunder woke me up a few times last night, however I do like it when it rains at night. Its nice being in a warm bed during thunderstorms. Ok…so where am I going with this post? Get to the point already.

In just 2 short months I’ll be leaving full time employment teaching art and photography for the North Carolina Community College System. I don’t like to use the word retirement because I certainly plan to continue working, however it will be pursuing more of my own creative and entrepreneurial  endeavors.  The thing that freaks me out the most is just how fast 30+ years went by. I can vividly remember leaving graduate school in the early 80’s and looking for a job.

I was finishing up graduate school at East Carolina University working on my Master of Fine Arts Degree in Communication Arts when my photo Professor Henry Stindt invited me to come to a Society for Photographic Education regional conference with him.  I got my job teaching at Carteret Community College because of that trip to Penland NC for that conference.

I was sitting at breakfast in a beautiful old rustic building when I heard my future colleague Cathy Crowell at the next table  talking about starting a Photography Program on the coast of NC in a place called Morehead City. The young animated woman spoke rapidly and passionately about her vision and it was only a matter of minutes before I got up from my table, coffee in hand and sat beside her to introduce myself. I explained to her about my photography work and educational background and she told me to apply for the half-time position that would be available in her photography department in the coming months.

Long story short, I filled up my car with my photography portfolios and dragging my three-year old son Adam with me; we drove to the beach, met with Cathy for an interview, and the rest is history. I’ve worked by Cathy Crowell’s side ever since teaching what I love, at what I believe to be the best Photography Program on the East Coast.

For the past month I have been backing up all my old files, scanning photographs and negatives generated over the past 30 years and basically preparing to move on to the next chapter of my life.  It is bittersweet because I do love teaching and the people I work with, however since moving half time into distance learning administration the senseless bureaucratic demands have taken much of the joy out of it for me because teaching is no longer my primary job. Its time to move on!

I must admit, I am looking forward to the next leg of the journey and not having to be at a given place five days a week. I’ll be doing most of my freelance work online which enables me to travel and work from anywhere in the world. The last long chapter was pretty darn good for the most part and I am looking forward to where the road leads me once I leave full time employment the end of June.

Its been a blast going through my old photographs and scanning  negatives that I have been storing for decades. Here are some of my favorite old images that were buried in my files.

Here are some more fun photos with my students. Click Here!

3 comments on “Next Leg of the Journey

  1. Keiko Chun
    April 30, 2012

    Hey Mr. K.
    I came across this when I was looking at your “Art in a Time Machine” post and wanted to send some well deserved congratulations your way. The senseless bureaucracy of education is something we all face in the college circuit, it feels more convoluted than it should and I can honestly regretfully report that I have “learned” much less than I feel my tuition is worth at PCC. Anyway, congrats and thanks for giving me a class to look forward to.

  2. keoughp
    April 30, 2012

    Thanks Keiko! I am glad you enjoyed the course. Good luck to you in your future classes. Hang in there! K

  3. mslelamcc
    May 1, 2012

    Patrick, OH to go back to the “Mullet” days! You will be greatly missed here at CCC, but you already know that. -L

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2012 by in Keough Journal, Photography and tagged , , .
