KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Transitioning…

It’s hard to believe the Spring 2012 semester is over and I don’t have to wake up every morning to check into 10+ online art history and photography classes. I’m so very ready for a little break. In fact…I’ll be getting a huge respite in about 6 weeks when I officially retire from my Community College teaching position after 31 years.  It’s been a terrific and very challenging (rewarding) career journey and now its time to turn the page and start a new chapter in my personal adventure story.  I’ll spend the next few days packing up my offices and backing up thousands of files off my work computers – mostly photographs I have taken over the years.  Just going back through them brings back great memories – at least for the most part.  I have no real regrets about moving on and feel as though I’ve made a difference in many students lives. That is really what teaching is all about.  Sharing my passion, enthusiasm and knowledge about art and photography with  students.  It certainly isn’t about the money – at least that’s not what has truly rewarded me over the years.

Its going to be difficult waking up and realizing I don’t have to run out the door to the office of class. So with that said, I’ll be transitioning to exploring new entrepreneurial ventures  in the months to come. Working with Vasa Project is one of those ventures that I will be putting more time and effort into.  My first challenge is getting our online summer photography workshops off the ground and running.

Consider taking one of these unique workshops listed below given by some excellent photo educators such as A. D. Coleman, Robert Dickes, Jerry Holsopple and Kathleen Nathan.

VASA Summer Institute in Photographic Studies

• Criticism: Why Did I Say That?
• Teaching Photography Online: Advanced
• Alternative Processes in Digital Photography
• Documenting Community
• Portraits That Matter
• Rethinking Photography
• Photographic Editing & Sequencing
• Media Literacy Connections for K-3 Classrooms
• Media Literacy for Teachers and Parents of Young Children

Register here….
http://www.vasa-project.com/workshop/view.php

So yes I am retiring from one job, but you probably won’t find me at the beach drinking Bud light and getting sunburn, however you just may find me sitting with my laptop sipping on a pint at a pub in Ireland or climbing another Volcano in El Salvador with my son Adam.

The beauty of retirement as I see it is having more options and alternatives for pursuing ones dreams and goals in life.

E-Learning has afforded me new opportunities for continuing to teach in a more flexible and creative way, in addition to enabling me to travel, photograph, write and make art on my schedule – not fit into academia’s traditional industrial revolution model that should have been discarded decades ago.

Cheers! First pints on me.

9 comments on “Transitioning…

  1. vera engel stratton
    May 10, 2012

    Best of luck Patrick. I too just retired from my Portrait business. You are a great teacher and friend. I often think about the 1st photoshop class with you. I had no clue about digital photograph and now I use photoshop 6 and painter 12! Where is Stacey?

  2. diprouty
    May 10, 2012

    Congrats, Patrick. I bet it’s going to feel weird not checking BB every morning.

  3. Ozaawaakook
    May 10, 2012

    AAAAAAHHHH! Red Dog,. you have certainly earn the right to rest on your laurels. The person I remember will still be driven to explore all creative options in your retirement. I would extend an invite to our Fourth of July Pow Wow this year in the north country, if your a mind too. We will connect soon, I have always felt this since we did our tour together. Keep the past in mind, be engaged in the day and move forward to your tomorrows. Ozaawaakook

    • keoughp
      May 10, 2012

      I’m there!

      T-Mobile. America’s First Nationwide 4G Network

      • Ozaawaakook
        May 11, 2012

        Old Friend, This will be a good thing, and by the way, cause I just need to say it ” Bring your camera” Let’s keep in touch on this. I look forward to our time together” Ozaawaakook

      • keoughp
        May 11, 2012

        Send me your phone # via email. Need flight info

        T-Mobile. America’s First Nationwide 4G Network

  4. robertomuffoletto
    May 14, 2012

    Patrick.. I’ll buy the 2nd pint …. meet you in Ireland !!

  5. keoughp
    May 14, 2012

    Sounds like a plan Roberto! Let’s do a workshop at Anam Cara Artists Retreat in SW Ireland in the Fall

  6. mslelamcc
    May 15, 2012

    Patrick, it’s thanks to you that CCC is where we are DL-wise! And I would have missed a lot of professional opportunities w/o your help and encouragement. Let me know if you need any help packing or organizing the boxes in the office, it’s not like I haven’t had a little experience with that in recent years! I don’t mind helping, Lela

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2012 by in Distance Learning, Keough Journal, Photography and tagged , , , , .
