KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Got a New Holga Plastic Camera!!!

I had some down time between Spring and Summer semester last week and loaded my new 35mm Holga camera with some 400 ISO Black and White film and went meandering around my neighborhood  with plastic camera in hand.  Sure I love shooting with my Canon 5D, but I must admit the total  simplicity of the Holga and the magical / painterly quality of the images it captures due to its plastic lens can be really fun (and a challenge) to shoot.

You never really know how the camera is going to translate your subject matter.  This was my first time shooting with the 35mm Holga and I must admit I was pleasantly surprised with my negatives after pulling them out of the fixer earlier today.  I still love developing film, although I don’t do enough of it anymore.  Its just so much easier to pick up the 5D and shoot away. Now that retirement is around the corner I’ll be shooing lots more film and hope to have more time to do my photography instead of spending all my time teaching it.

So without further ado here as some of my favorites from that first roll.  They are not as soft on the edges as the medium format Holga, but still have that other worldly dream like quality. The beauty of making photographs with a cheap and simple plastic camera is you focus your attention more to creating the image than the technical aspects of the photographic process. Click here to see my older Holga and Diana Camera medium format images. Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 comments on “Got a New Holga Plastic Camera!!!

  1. Shannon
    May 24, 2012

    I love it!!!! I know what you mean. I have been shooting infrared film here lately.. So much fun. Because of my work schedule and more or less the accessibility to a darkroom I send the film out. So the anticipation of the negatives is enormous.. Thanks for sharing.. As always.. U R The MAN!!! 🙂

  2. Karen Mault
    May 24, 2012

    I love the Holga, too. Have the insert to convert my original Holga to 35mm. Also picked up the Holga lens with a Canon mount so I can take Holga-like images with my 5D. Pretty awesome.

  3. keoughp
    May 25, 2012

    Yes The Holga is lots of fun to shoot! I just loaded it up with color negative film to see how that is going to translate through the plastic lens – Andei lent me her Holga Fisheye lens so stay tuned for more Holga madness.

  4. robertomuffoletto
    May 28, 2012

    Patrick.. now you are free to make images, free from sleping all that stuff.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 24, 2012 by in Keough Journal, Photography and tagged , , , .
