KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

A Welcome Respite…

I have been retired for exactly one week and must admit it’s a little unsettling not to have to “show up” at a given place and time every day.

Don’t get me wrong…I’m enjoying it immensely and am establishing a new routine for myself that includes writing in my journal during coffee each morning, doing some home improvements and then working on the first in what will hopefully be a series of photo “Blurb” books pulled from my 10,000 + images taken over the last 30 years.

This is after I already edited and culled out that many pictures and more since backing up all my photo files (both film and digital) over the past month in preparation for retirement.

I don’t think I am going to have any problems getting used to retired life especially considering that I plan to go back to teaching Art History online in six months. For right now I’m going to enjoy this sabbatical and write, photograph, read and work on my books, in addition to doing some traveling.

Heading to El Salvador next month to take an immersion Spanish course and spend some time with my son Adam. Then in October its off to Germany and Slovakia to teach a Photography Workshop with my colleague Roberto from VASA Transmedia and participate in a Foto Festival.

The process of editing and laying out a photo book using photographs taken over 20 years ago is both cathartic and somewhat emotional. This is the first time in many years that I’ve been truly able to scrutinize and edit down a large body of black and white images taken while I was (still am)  a single father. The memories (both good and bad) come flooding back as I review these old pictures for possible inclusion in my book.

I always carried my camera around with me back then and my film of choice was Tri-X Pan and T-Max 100. I shot with a variety of cameras to include an Olympus OM4, Bronica and Holga Medium Format cameras. I’ve since scanned most of my best images at a high resolution for book publication and high quality printing.

For now its back to the book!

Click Here to view the images of Adam I am using for the book.  There is a slide show link at the top of my blog page

One comment on “A Welcome Respite…

  1. Shannon
    July 5, 2012

    Wow…. Germany!!!!!! That’s one place that is on my Bucket LIST!!!!!! Lucky You!!!!! Congrats!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 5, 2012 by in Book Project, Keough Journal, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , .
