KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Irish “Retired” Rover!

I must admit…retirement’s more enjoyable than I’d ever imagined.  I’ve got my “bucket list” and in just a few short months since leaving full time employment I’ve already checked off a few things like visiting Antigua, Guatemala and taking Spanish lessons in El Salvador.

Taking six months off after 30 years has been an incredibly therapeutic and exhilarating experience to say the least.  I have lots more adventures on the horizon before going back to part-time online teaching in January.  Key word here being part-time! I still need to work to supplement my pension and pay for my travel habit.

I’ve never been a very spontaneous person before, but for some reason  I’m throwing caution to the wind and jumping on every travel  opportunity that comes my way. You only live once so I’m sucking the marrow out of life before I’m too old and physically worn out to enjoy it. With that said… the Irish Rover is off to Central America again later next week to visit Honduras to photograph the Mayan Ruins in Copan.

I now have the time, energy and resources to do the things I’ve only dreamed of before.   Sure…there are some aspects of traveling that are stressful and anxiety ridden – however,  if you’re a “smart” traveler you can avoid or at least minimize the stress and demands of international travel.

You can check out my 10 Travel Tips by clicking here!

One additional point concerning my travel tips.  Things are going to be less expensive in Central America than they are in Europe so if you are on a limited budget Central America is a great alternative to traveling to Europe.  The people are very friendly and beer is considerable cheaper as well and that’s a good thing!

Stay tuned for upcoming blog posts from Honduras and after that short trip I’m off to Europe (Amsterdam, Germany, Slovakia, Vienna, Poland and Budapest) for more adventures to see and experience as much art, photography, historical sites and of course pubs as I possibly can. It is also the European Month of Photography.

This will include teaching a photography workshop in Slovakia and doing portfolio reviews as well. On top of all the traveling I have also started a Facebook Photography Sharing / Critique Group – Come join us if you are interested in sharing your photographs and taking your photography to a higher level!

Happy travels!

6 comments on “Irish “Retired” Rover!

  1. diprouty
    September 10, 2012

    Congrats on your retirement. It’s great to see you’re living life to the fullest.

  2. Michael
    September 15, 2012

    Mr. K, are you okay and staying out of trouble? I hope so! I was just thinking about you and wanted to say HELLO! Well, I’m sure that you’re having a good time, and based upon your September 10th blog entry, I can tell that you are having some fun. Ah, I’m just rambling now.
    We all talk about you, often, and we hope you’re doing well. Swing by and say hello to
    everyone before you travel to Europe, if you can. Bessie still has your Apple mouse (2nd floor
    over in WW). Okay, now, you take care and pack plenty of fun into your daily routines. Michael.

  3. Henry James Stindt
    September 27, 2012

    Wonderful pics; we need to combine our photos – I think they would paint a very broad and dynamic image for this and other latino archeological sites.

  4. Henry James Stindt
    September 27, 2012

    OOOPs, I was trying to leave this on your Honduras article – help!

  5. keoughp
    September 27, 2012

    no worries Henry! Thanks for the compliment! Means a great deal coming from my mentor. We should put a show together of our Central American photographs. Thanks for you comments to my blog!

  6. Patricia Jordan
    March 9, 2013

    Saint Augustine said, “The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.” He was right!

Leave a Reply

