KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Happy New Year From Panajachel Guatemala!

Awe inspiring lake Panajachel, Guatemala.

Awe inspiring lake Panajachel, Guatemala.

I’m presently in Panajachel, Guatemala after traveling by mini-bus from El Salvador to Antigua and then on to experience the amazing Sunday market in Chichicastenango. I was overwhelmed and amazed by the magnitude and excitement of the market. The market is like the “heart beat” of the city and everything revolves around it.

View from balcony of the Sunday Market in Chichicastenango, Guatemala.

View from balcony of the Sunday Market in Chichicastenango, Guatemala.

The colors, smells, sites and sounds of the market were beyond words so I will post some photos.  I’m working on a much longer post over the next few days as I wrap-up my 6 month photographic sabbatical here in Guatemala.

Little baby being carried @ Market

Little baby being carried @ Market

Regina Canas and I are taking a ferry boat across the lake to a little village called San Marcos where there is no internet access. A time to write, contemplate, photograph and mentally prepare myself for going back to teaching next week.

Regina and I in Panajachel, Guatemala.

Regina and I in Panajachel, Guatemala.

If you follow Keo Blog you know I’ve been traveling through Europe and Central America for the past 6 months (see previous posts) since retiring from full-time teaching. What a long, strange, wonderful “mad-capped” adventure it’s been.

Krakow, Poland

Special thanks to Roberto Muffoletto, Adam Keough and Regina Cañas for being a part of my life changing sojourn.

Stay tuned for a longer more comprehensive post about my Guatemalan adventure.

Wishing all those who drop by KeO BloG an great and prosperous New Year!!!

2 comments on “Happy New Year From Panajachel Guatemala!

  1. hen793@gmail.com
    December 31, 2012

    I’m glad you discovered my favorite side of the world. Happy New Year! love, Henry

  2. keoughp
    January 1, 2013

    It is awesome Henry! We all need to do this trip next year and add Belize to the itinerary. Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2012 by in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , .
