KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Ending the Journey in Paradise!

Paradise!

View from my Hotel Window in San Marcos

View from my Hotel Window in San Marcos

The place I’m ending my six month sabbatical is absolute paradise. It’s January 1, 2013 – first day of the new year and I’m sitting up in bed, drinking a cup of strong coffee gazing out the bay windows of this mountain top resort in San Marcos, Guatemala at the most beautiful deep blue lake and expansive volcano vista anyone could imagine.

Sunset over Volcano from San Marcos

Sunset over Volcano from San Marcos

It’s hard to believe 2012 has come to an end. I must admit it’s been a great year with amazing adventures – especially since retiring last July 1st.  Life is a series of hills and valleys, ups and downs, joys and sorrow’s. I have been blessed in so many ways. The older I get the more I appreciate each and every day God gives me on this earth – especially mornings like this, waking up in San Marcos to this magnificent view.

Little Store Antigua

Little Store Antigua

It seems all my years of working, teaching and pursuing my career are now compressed into my memory bank. That chapter of my life is over and a new one has begun. Today is the start of a new year. I’m sure there are more joys and sorrows ahead. More challenges, adventures, and disappointments. Its all part of this thing called life and we learn and grow from them all.

Cemetery in Guatemala

Cemetery in Chichicastenango, Guatemala

Not only is it a new year.  In less than 2 weeks I turn 60 and another decade will pass me by. Time is a freight train screaming down the tracks of life and it stops for no one. I think if there is any single resolution I want to make, it’s to be more humble and appreciative of my blessings. Traveling through Eastern Europe and Central America has made me so very aware of how good I have it in life.

Church Steps at Market in Panajachel

Church Steps at Market in Panajachel, Guatemala

Sure…I’ve worked hard for the things I have, but many people work very hard and don’t have the opportunities I’ve had nor do they get the chance to travel and enjoy the fruits of their labors.

Man Watching Over Bananas before Market Day

Man Watching Over Bananas before Market Day

I’ll be ready to go back to teaching next week and I will also be ready to go back home to a routine. Traveling through Europe and Central America has been a dream come true for me. I have grown and learned a great deal over these past 6 months since leaving my full time job. There is life after full time employment and it can be a wonderful adventure.

Corn and Beans @ Market

Corn and Beans @ Market

Photography’s taught me to keep my eyes wide open to every nuance and little detail of my surroundings. It’s taught me to  truly SEE and APPRECIATE the world around me.  Especially the LIGHT that activates and enhances the textures, values and colors of the people and places I’ve come across in my travels.

Some New Friends From London

Some New Friends From London

Photography  has enhanced my travel experiences in so many ways. The pictures I’ve taken are little reminders of each step of the journey and the special friends made along the way. Happy New Year to you all and may your travels be safe, exciting and filled with adventure!

A few more favorite photos….

Colored Cloth and Wall

Colored Cloth and Wall

Ferry Boats San Marcos

Ferry Boats San Marcos

Meat Seller @ Market

Meat Seller @ Market

2 comments on “Ending the Journey in Paradise!

  1. hen793@gmail.com
    January 1, 2013

    It’s always hard returning from Paradise!

  2. Susan Hartnett Davis
    January 3, 2013

    hello from an old friend from Smithtown! Susan Hartnett (Davis) here. My brother Tim (Holy Family) forwarded your website to me. Looks like you’ve had a wonderful career and life. SO nice to see what you have been up to. I live in California and I too work in the arts! If you ever find yourself out this way, please look me up. SDavisFOA@aol.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2013 by in Keough Journal, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , .
