KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

CCC Photography Graduate Spotlight – Teresa Gillikin

I started my teaching career in Photo/Art Education back in the early 1980’s after military service as an Army Photojournalist. I was working towards an MFA in Communication Arts at East Carolina University and teaching continuing education courses at local community colleges in the evenings. I eventually “lucked out” and landed a full time teaching job at Carteret Community College in Eastern North Carolina thanks to a Society for Photographic Education conference where I met the woman (Cathy Crowell) who eventually hired me.

It’s hard  to believe 30 + years have passed and now am enjoying the freedom retirement brings. I still teach art history and photography courses part-time online, but have more time to pursue my passions of photography, painting, writing and travel.  I’m extremely proud of so many of my Photography Program graduates and have been amazed at how successful so many of them have been as they pursue careers or are just using their photography skills for creative / personal expression.

I’ve been blessed to have worked with great and talented photo colleagues such as Cathy Crowell and John Baucom.  Our Photo Department was always like a big family and that is something we all prided ourselves in, as well as having a great and diverse program. I’ve taught literally hundreds of art and photo students since those early days teaching as a part-time adjunct while in graduate school. This new blog page will spotlight one of my photo program graduates each month.

This first spotlight showcases Teresa Gillikin. 2005 graduate of our Photography Program. The following is a little bit about her and her work. I remember Teresa as being a very dedicated and hard working student who was always willing to model for her classmates when we did studio lighting and portrait demonstrations.  Teresa just got a new digital camera and re-energized about making photographs.

Teresa taking a break from photographing at the Kinston Indians Baseball game during a photo class "sports photography" field trip.

Teresa taking a break from photographing at the Kinston Indians Baseball game during a photo class “sports photography” field trip.

“I was born and mostly raised in Morehead City, NC; I currently live in a small suburb just south of Dallas, TX.  Photography has been a love of mine since high school, which led me to the Photography Program at Carteret Community College. I graduated with an AAS degree with honors in July 2005. Learning photography was one of the best decisions I have made so far. It has made me more aware of my surroundings and taught me how to express myself through art.

The ability to capture moments which may never happen again is something I’ve realized should not be taken for granted.  Life is fleeting and even the small moments count. So, I believe it is better to pay attention to everything rather than pay attention to nothing. As a photographer I strive to envision one subject or place in as many unique contexts as possible. In doing so, I give myself more flexibility from a presentation stand point.

I hope to continue with Photography throughout life while sharing some of my experience with the world along the way.” Here are some of my photographs. Click on each one for a larger view.

Skateboarding Documentary

Skateboarding Documentary

Rim Lighting Portrait

Rim Lighting Portrait

Cross Process Fashion Photo

Cross Process Fashion Photo

Self Portrait

Self Portrait Reflection

Unkown

Unknown

Branch, Buds and Sky

Branch, Buds and Sky

Deserted Farmhouse

Deserted Farmhouse

If you graduated from Carteret Community College and had me for an instructor feel free to contact me or post a comment to this blog post requesting a spotlight profile.

3 comments on “CCC Photography Graduate Spotlight – Teresa Gillikin

  1. Teresa Gillikin
    March 22, 2013

    This is great Patrick! Thanks again for including me in this process. I can’t wait to see all the talented people that will be showcased!

  2. Christina
    March 22, 2013

    I’m always down to be spotlighted. Lol. 😀 I think that it is great that you are taking the time to spotlight the likes of us!

  3. Pingback: Being Showcased | Teresa Gillikin's Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 22, 2013 by in Photography.
