KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Planning a Pilgrimage……Road to Santiago

I have been reading an amazing book called “The Pilgrimage” by Paulo Coelho and it has me totally enthralled with the possibility of making my own pilgrimage on the “Road to Santiago” one year from now. I have online teaching commitments up to next May 2014 and I have decided to take the entire late Spring and Summer of 2014 and walk this road.

The entire pilgrimage takes up to 2 months so I have a year to prepare myself mentally, spiritually and physically for this sojourn. I have to do this soon because I am now 60 and it is going to be a physically grueling  challenge. Now that I am retired from full time teaching and administrating distance learning I can plan a trip such as this.

Paulo Coelho tells the story of a pilgrimage which is both inspiring and taps into the core of what it means to be human,  facing our demons, our dreams and everyday challenges of life.

“Teaching is only demonstrating that it is possible. Learning is making it possible for yourself.”
Paulo Coelho, The Pilgrimage

“We must never stop dreaming. Dreams provide nourishment for the soul, just as a meal does for the body.”
Paulo Coelho, The Pilgrimage

  A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step – Lao Tzu

So I have a year to plan, prepare and set things into motion to make this personal quest.  I would love to hear from anyone who has made this pilgrimage.  By the middle of the book I knew without a doubt that I would have to make this pilgrimage. I will post updates as I move forward with the planning process.

You can find out more about the Road to Santiago here.

One comment on “Planning a Pilgrimage……Road to Santiago

  1. Pingback: Ready for More Adventures… | KeO BLoG

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2013 by in Keough Journal, Travel and tagged , , , .
