KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Some Holga Photographs from Long Island, NY

I just returned from a week long visit to Long Island, NY. I had the privilege of attending my parents 62nd wedding anniversary celebration in addition to visiting with old friends and relatives.  While there my brother Terry and I went out to Montauk Point where I pulled out my trusty Holga 35 mm film camera and took a few photographs using a fish eye attachment. I was not very pleased with the negatives when I developed them yesterday.

Even though I felt like I got my exposures set correctly for the camera they turned out a bit dense and grainy. I cleaned them up in Photoshop as best I could and was able to get a few halfway decent images.  I really enjoy shooting the Holga both in 35 and 2 1/4 format, however it is a hit or miss process due to the limited camera functions and exposure controls.

Flying Dragon

Flying Dragon

Its fun to pull the negatives out of the wash and see the results. The pictures never look like you initially envisioned but you usually get a few unique and interesting pictures. These few Holga pictures below satisfied my film fix for awhile.  I had fun getting in the darkroom again after a year long hiatus to process the negatives. I love digital photography but there is still nothing like making photographs with a film camera and having to wait to develop the film to see the results. Very different from looking at the back of the digital camera every time you take a shot.

The lomography web site states…“Ironically, as camera design becomes more technical, automatic, and sophisticated, Holga’s low-tech appeal grows stronger and stronger for us; those who relish its quirky and unpredictable nature. While designers around the world are racking their brains to create increasingly more advanced and complex cameras; the Holga will continue to grow as a steadfast counterculture item, taking away the complications of technology and simplifying the equation to four critical elements – your eye, the lens, the film, and your subject.”

Cow and Flag - East Hampton, LI

Cow and Flag – East Hampton, LI

Montauk Point Lighthouse

Montauk Point Lighthouse

Statues in front of Antique Store East Hampton

Statues in front of Antique Store East Hampton

Fishing Boats, Montauk Point Village

Fishing Boats, Montauk Point Village

Dinosaur Statues in front of Antique Store

Dinosaur Statues in front of Antique Store

Click Here for more Holga and Diana Plastic Camera Photographs

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2013 by in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , .
