KeO BLoG

Thoughts on Life, Art, Photography, Technology, Teaching and Travel…..

Vienna in the Fall….

I’ve been in Vienna two full days now and I must say it’s a beautiful, bustling historic Austrian Capital city with countless museums and breathtaking Baroque architecture. It is called the city of music and is the birthplace of Sigmund Frued and the Waltz.

Vienna owes much of its international fame to the many celebrated composers who lived and worked here including Straus, Mozart, Beethoven and Hayden. The Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra is one of the world’s best, the Staatsoper one of the world’s leading opera houses, the Vienna Boys’ Choir one the world’s most famous choir’s. Let’s us not forget Vienna sausages.

Downtown Vienna

Downtown Vienna

I flew into Vienna airport the morning of November 1st after a long, sleepless night on the plane. I have never been able to sleep well on planes and the crying baby in the seat in front of me made that an impossibility, so I was forced to take a short nap at my friend and colleague Roberto’s apartment after he met me and took me back to to his place.

Vienna Park with Gothic Cathedral in Distance

Vienna Park with Gothic Cathedral in Distance

First Impressions….

After a refreshing nap we jumped onto the underground train and navigated our way downtown.  Once we climbed the stairs of the subway I was greeted by a beautiful sunny day and an expansive,  sprawling European city.  Vienna is bigger than I thought it would be. The Baroque architecture and crowded city streets initially caught my attention, in addition to the mild fall weather and countless tourists taking pictures of each other while posing in front of historic sights.

Downtown Vienna

Downtown Vienna

I spend my first full day strolling through the historic downtown district and just soaking up the sights and sounds of the city.  We concluded our first day at an Irish Pub sipping on some very good beer. The jet lag took its toll and I crashed early and slept for 10 hours on Roberto’s futon.  Ok…somebody pinch me and wake me up. I mean hey…I’m in Vienna!

Vienna Market

Vienna Market

Day #2

Our second day in Vienna started with shopping for vegetables  at the local market and then exploring and photographing the largest historic cemetery I have ever experience in my life.  It dated back to the early 1800’s and parts of the grave yard were covered in weeds and ivy.

Ivy Covered Graves in old Jewish Cemetery

Ivy Covered Graves in old Jewish Cemetery

We spent most of the afternoon photographing in the cemetery and ended the day in a German restaurant drinking some delicious German Bock beer and eating a traditional German meal consisting of pork, sauerkraut and dumplings.

Below are more photos from my first 2 days in Vienna.  We will be here until Friday morning and then off to Bratislava to participate in the European Month of Photography.  Roberto and I will be attending lots of photographic exhibitions and critiquing other photographers portfolios while we are there. I must take a moment to thanks Roberto Muffoletto, Director of VASA Project for his gracious hospitality and being an excellent tour guide.

More Photos from Vienna……

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 comments on “Vienna in the Fall….

  1. Airlie Pelletier
    November 3, 2013

    Bravo, Patrick! I always love reading your blog and seeing your colorful photographs. Keep sharing and adventure-seeking! xx

  2. Patrick Keough
    November 3, 2013

    Thanks so much Airlie! I appreciate your kind feedback. I hope you and Jack are doing well.

  3. Charles Strange
    November 3, 2013

    Beautiful City! I’ve always heard this and plan to get there myself soon!

  4. Patrick Keough
    November 3, 2013

    Yes it is Charles! Very clean with magnificent architecture and lots of great art and music.

  5. Joseph Whichard
    November 3, 2013

    I hope you have a great time Patrick. Just love your blogs.

  6. Patrick Keough
    November 3, 2013

    Thanks Joe! Having a blast! Living life to the fullest and checking off that bucket list of things to do before they put the dirt on me.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 3, 2013 by in Keough Journal, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , .
